Drop-in meetings organised for Appleby Horse Fair

Drop-in meetings organised for Appleby Horse Fair

Drop-in meetings organised for Appleby Horse Fair

First published in News

A SERIES of drop-in meetings have been arranged for residents to learn more about this year’s Appleby Horse Fair.

The annual horse fair runs from June 5-11, attracting around 10,000 gypsies and travellers as well as up to 30,000 visitors, transforming the town of Appleby.

South Lakeland District Council (SLDC) works with partner organisations, including the county council, police and neighbouring local authorities, to manage the migration of Gypsies and Travellers through the district on their way to and from the fair.

SLDC staff have organised temporary stopping point sites for both traditional ‘bowtop’ caravans and motorised caravans along routes to Appleby.

In addition enforcement officers and police officers will be undertaking daily ‘verge patrols’ to check for any litter problems on roads and to ensure that motorised caravans are not parking anywhere other than the temporary stopping points.

The temporary stopping points in South Lakeland are available from Tuesday May 27 to Thursday June 5 and following the fair from Monday June 9 to Friday June 13, at the following locations:

• Devil’s Bridge, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Middleton Common, near Sedbergh
• Rawthey Bridge, Cautley, near Sedbergh
• Scrogg Bank, Sedbergh

SLDC Principal Street Scene Officer Neil Meakins said: "Through our arrangements leading up to and during the fair we want to ensure the movement of Gypsies and Travellers through the district is safe and enjoyable for everyone and to reduce the impact on the environment."

On May 12 there will be a ‘Pre-Fair’ drop-in event at Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, from 3pm to 6pm.

This will be followed by a three-week series of daily meetings in Kirkby Lonsdale and Sedbergh in the run up to, during and after the horse fair.

All meetings are between 10am-11am on the following dates:

• Tuesday, 27 May: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Wednesday, 28 May: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Thursday, 29 May: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Friday, 30 May: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Saturday, 31 May: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale

• Monday, 2 June: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Tuesday, 3 June: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Wednesday, 4 June: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Thursday, 5 June: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Friday, 6 June: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Saturday, 7 June: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale

• Monday, 9 June: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Tuesday, 10 June: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Wednesday, 11 June: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh
• Thursday, 12 June: Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale
• Friday, 13 June: Community Offices, 72 Main Street, Sedbergh

There will also be a ‘Post-Fair’ debrief drop-in on July 8 at Lunesdale Hall, Kirkby Lonsdale, from 4pm to 7pm.

Anyone who can’t make the drop-in meetings but would like to raise any issues can contact the streetcare team by emailing: info@southlakeland.gov.uk, or by calling 01539 733333.

In addition, SLDC Enforcement Officer John Barwise will be taking part in a ‘community webchat’ with police on Wednesday, 7 May, when residents from Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale are invited to get in touch with any questions about the Appleby Fair policing operation.

To join the webchat please visit: http://www.cumbria.police.uk/contact-us/online-meetings/kendal-online-meetings/

For more information about Appleby Horse Fair visit: www.applebyfair.org

Comments

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree