First published in News The Westmorland Gazette: Photograph of the Author by

FALLOUT by Ruth Sutton, £8.99
ISBN 978-1-906148782

FALLOUT is the final part of a Cumbrian trilogy – following on from A Good Liar and Forgiven – which are set against the backdrop of the west Cumbrian nuclear industry.

The protagonist is a ‘feisty’ single woman - Jessie Whelan - who works at the Windscale nuclear plant.

A tragic accident at the site - based on a real-life fire incident - creates an opportunity for Jessie to change her life, but with the arrival of a stranger her independence is compromised.

Meanwhile, the accident threatens the future of the local community in ways Jessie could never have foretold.

Ruth - who has written the Between the Mountain and the Sea trilogy over the past six years - is a teacher and international educational advisor working with schools, notably in Canada and New Zealand. She lives at Waberthwaite near Millom.


Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree