ACADEMIC and sporting achievements were celebrated at the annual prizegiving evening at the Lakes School

Head teacher Andy Cunningham told those gathered it was ‘undoubtedly one of the highlights of our year’.

The evening started with ‘inspirational’ speeches from head girl Hannah Durkin and head boys, Denzil Henderson and Lewis Rands-Trevor before Mr Cunningham delivered a talk and awards were handed out across a range of categories.

“Sat amongst you are some inspirational young men and women who have shone in a number of fields including academic study, practical and vocational courses, leadership and in a wide range of others,” he said. “I know I speak for all of the governors, staff and your parents when I say that we are incredibly proud to share this evening with you.”

He added: “I would like to extend a very personal thank you to the staff for all of your hard work, dedication and care in helping each of our students to make a great start in life.

“And, collectively, we would all like to thank yourselves as parents for working so closely with us to get the very best out of your children. The partnership between parents and the school is so important and I hope you agree when I say that we consider it a real strength at The Lakes School.

“To all of our award winners, keep working hard, keep being brilliant and most of all, enjoy celebrating your achievements.”

Individual sporting highlights included Year Seven James Bowen becoming English Schools’ National Champion, karter Samuel White competing in the IAME World Championships Le Mans Junior Jack Ellis and footballers Max Hinman, Alex Jackson, Luca Sebastien-Wood, James Thornley and Louis Webster earning places in professional clubs’ development squads.

Special Awards:

Alex King Memorial Award for Art: Sophie Evans (Y7); The Richard Gray ICT Outstanding Performance Award: James Bagnall; Inner Wheel Award: Bethany Elliott, Jamie Hamilton, Jennifer Ramsey, Jack Muir; The Tracey Fogg Memorial Award, Ben Walton; Val Atkinson Memorial Award: Hannah Durkin, Luke Bowen; Duke of Edinburgh Award Bronze - Siri Garner, Silver - Jessica Britt; Gold - Hannah Durkin; Richard Thomas Memorial Award for History: Lucy Prescott; Contribution to the Community: Ellenor Beetham, Martyna Brood; Spanish Trip Award: Zach Shirra; Work Experience Award: Katherine Slader; Head Boy Award: Norland Green; Head Girl Award: Hannah Durkin; Headteacher’s Award: Lucy Prescott