KENDAL Swimming Club’s latest round of Club Championships was dominated by two swimmers – Nicholas Carlton and Emily Reay.

The Gala opened with the individual medleys. and in the ladies final, fastest qualifier Reay got off to a great start at butterfly.

She put herself ahead of Laura Garrick and the greatly improved Brodie Swallow and she wound it up in front crawl to storm to a brilliant win, with Garrick silver and Swallow bronze.

Reay, 12, also took the Girls U14 Championship ahead of Swallow and Ruby Vernon, setting a new record time of 1:14.73 in the process.

The gents final was in similar vein with Carlton’s all-round ability and skill contributing to an outstanding win ahead of Crispin Halcrow and Harry Denney.

The Boys U14 trophy went to Daniel Armstrong with Christopher Stainton second and Gregor Rothwell third.

The breaststroke 50m sprints proved highly popular, attracting more than 60 entries. The Girls U11 race had nine-year-old Megan Jones displaying outstanding skill to make all over Erin Bagge and Emily Westmorland respectively.

Ollie Sergeant had to pull out all the stops to win the boys trophy. Saving his best for the final length he triumphed in a storming finish ahead of Louie Tideswell and Ruben Swallow.

The open age groups brought a magnificent personal best from Lauren Domville, who drove her way to the finish for a well-deserved win over Rosie Rawlinson and Roisin Bagge, while Liam Bagge engaged in a titanic battle with Carlton, driving his way to the finish and just touching out his challenger for the win.

Another large entry took on the gruelling 400m freestyle, and again it was Reay who produced a dazzling display to surge into the lead and hold off all her challengers to win the ladies championship from Garrick and Roisin Bagge.

The gents championship however had one leader, Carlton, with four others chasing, shoulder to shoulder. Holding his nerve Carlton took gold in style for his second trophy of the evening. A blanket finish for the others took Bagge to silver with the bronze going to Halcrow.

Other fine efforts came from Abigail Thornley and Louie Tideswell at 25m freestyle.