Dallam defeat Dent to surge to the summit of Division Two in table tennis

First published in Sport The Westmorland Gazette: Photograph of the Author by , Reporter

DALLAM D are the new leaders in Division Two of the Kendal and District League after inflicting a crushing 9-1 defeat upon lowly Dent B.

Dallam raced into an unassailable 8-0 lead thanks to Mick Jackson’s three victories and two wins apiece from teammates Stuart Allan and Matt Neal.

Dent were unfortunate not to get on the score-sheet after Pete Hawley and Ross Sedgwick were beaten 11-4 and 11-6 by Jackson and Allan respectively in epic five set thrillers.

Deservedly, Dent eventually opened their account when Hawley toppled Allan 11-8, 11-7, 9-11, 11-8.

A 9-1 score-line in Dallam’s favour was completed when Neal defeated Sedgwick in four sets before teaming up with Jackson in the doubles to beat Sedgwick and Hawley 11-7, 11-6, 11-7. The loss leaves Dent rooted to the foot of the table, 13 points from safety.

Natland D cemented their second placed position despite being held 5-5 against an impressive Kirkby Stephen A.

Kirkby edged into a narrow 3-2 advantage courtesy of Ben Lindridge’s victories against Richard San Jose and Mick Taylor, while Eric Robinson earned a thrilling five set success against Liam Hogan.

Natland responded with San Jose’s exhausting 11-8 victory in the fifth set against Robinson and Hogan’s straight sets triumph over Gerry Baines.

Related links

Moving into the second period, the Eden Valley side went into the doubles 5-4 up thanks to further wins from Lindridge against Hogan and Baines against San Jose.

Natland kept up the heat as Taylor scored two victories, including a sensational 11-9 success in the dramatic fifth set against Robinson, and they held on for a 5-5 draw when Hogan and Taylor teamed up to win the doubles.

At the other end of the table, Grayrigg A are teetering one place above the relegation zone following a 6-4 defeat at the hands of Burton C. Graeme Wheelhouse scooped the man of the match award with three victories for Burton, while teammate James Burton won two games against Kevin Hunter and Doug Baxter.

In Division Three, Grayrigg B earned only their third victory of the season with a 22-18 triumph over Natland E.

Grayrigg’s Olly Philpott-Smith and Ben Littlewood won two games apiece against Adrian Turpin and Tim Marris, while Sam Housego chipped in with a four set victory against Turpin. Natland’s man of the match was Gavin Lowe, who won all three games.

Crook C’s promotion aspirations received a major boost as they eclipsed Dallam E 24-13. James Neal won all three games, including a marvellous 10-12, 11-8, 11-3, 11-7 triumph against Ben Metsers. Crook lie in third place only eight points from a promotion place and have a game in hand over their rivals.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree