OLIVER Killiner smashed a brutal century as Windermere claimed their first victory of the season in fine style against bottom of the table Bolton le Sands at Main Road.

With rain a constant threat, Windermere’s game plan was to score quick runs and Killiner duly obliged, smashing a remarkable 14 sixes en route to an unbeaten 134.

The visitors declared on 200-1 after 20 overs before ripping through the Bolton le Sands batting line-up, with Matt Park claiming 6-38 and Steven Carruthers 4-14.

Michael Cole provided brief resistance with a knock of 27 as the home side were routed for 80 and Windermere secured a precious 15 points.

This was Killiner’s second century in as many days against Bolton le Sands, with the powerful batsman clobbering 113 just 24 hours earlier in the league’s 20/20 competition.

Mike Lewthwaite’s 33 and 30 from Jonathan Cooper were the other major contributions as Windermere posted 218-5, as Bolton le Sands finished on 109-3 thanks largely to Graham Beaumont’s unbeaten 71.

There was also a first win of the season for Ambleside, as the Rydal Road club recorded a two-wicket success against Heysham.

After winning the toss and fielding, Ambleside’s Barnaby Wileman and Sam Mason starred with the ball, taking four wickets apiece as Heysham were dismissed for 104.

Stefan Dixon top scored for the away side with 30 as Lewis Placket hit 24, with Ambleside making a solid start in reply by reaching 40-2.

The hosts then proceeded to collapse to 68-8 before Barnaby Wileman and Robin Penrice combined to see Ambleside home for a 12-point win, scoring 23 and 19 respectively.

Heysham’s Andrew Ideson bowled unchanged throughout the Ambleside innings and threatened to crash the hosts’ party, taking 6-33.

Despite being 90-1 at one stage, Burneside were all out for 125 as Sedgwick’s Simon Willacy and skipper Jason Dalzell wreaked havoc with the ball.

Willacy claimed 4-31 as Dalzell returned figures of 4-23, with Marcus Oates making a half century for the Ellergreen Park club.

In reply, opener Adam Hornby and Mike Robinson both hit scores in the forties to steer Sedgwick home, despite Burneside’s Lee Tattersall claiming four late wickets.

Shireshead are the new league leaders after recording a 33-run victory against Milnthorpe at Clifton Park, as Peter Wilson produced with both bat and ball.

After losing Paul Yates for seven, the Shireshead top order all fired with Liam Parkinson and Wilson both scoring 41, Simon Gould 44 and Dan Wilkinson finishing unbeaten on 45.

Shireshead posted 199-6 from 35 overs, while in reply Milnthorpe were bowled out for 166 in 34, with Phil Bovis scoring 44 and Steve Bowman 33.

Wilson led the Shireshead bowling charge with 6-35 although James Rafferty picked up two wickets, including the crucial scalp of Bovis who smashed eight fours and a six, as did Uzair Shah.

Meanwhile, reigning champions Arnside chased down a victory target of 188 in 33 overs to claim 12 points and maintain their place among the leading lights in the league table.

In a rain-affected game, Westgate sportingly declared on 187-7 from 39 overs, which balanced the game in terms of numbers of overs available to bat.

Andy Hill was Westgate’s most eminent batsman with a knock of 56 while Steve Creed finished 51 not out as Rob Shepherd returned figures of 4-64.

After losing a further six overs to the weather, Oliver Richardson-Hogg fell for 39 while Mike Wolfenden was also dismissed to leave Arnside 46-2.

This united Craig Barron and Lee for the third wicket and the duo guided the away side home in the 30th over, with Barron finishing unbeaten on 71 and Lee 66.

The only game in the top flight not to end with a victor came at Cove Road as Warton claimed a winning draw against Silverdale after setting 206-6 from 35 overs.

The ever-reliable Ryan Nelson made use of the short boundary to score an impressive 83, while Graeme Crowther and Stuart Mayor hit some lusty blows to finish unbeaten on 49 and 27 respectively.

In reply, Silverdale shot out the blocks to reach 103 without loss as Jack Hargreaves and Graham Dodds both notched half centuries.

However, Crowther dismissed Hargreaves before Nelson bowled Dodds as both sides searched for victory, with Silverdale ultimately finishing on 196-9.

Crowther was the pick of the Warton bowlers with 3-63 as the Hyning Park outfit had three balls at the end of the innings to claim victory only for Silverdale to hold firm.

In Division Two, Holme tasted defeat for the first time this season on Monday after being dismissed for just 95, with Coniston edging over the line at 96-9.

Bare and Heysham both took full advantage with comfortable 15-point victories over Kirkby Lonsdale and Burneside respectively.

Carnforth continue to lead the way in the third tier following a nine-wicket success at Arnside on Sunday, while second-placed Milnthorpe beat Galgate in similar fashion.

Netherfield are the new leaders of Division Four after defeating Kirkby Lonsdale by four wickets, making the most of Carnfoth’s winning draw at home to Holme.

Morecambe continue to set the pace in Division Five while third-placed Netherfield lost ground at the summit after slipping to a 45-run loss to Silverdale.