The Floodlight Bowling League Competition began last week at Victoria Bowling Club in Kendal.

On what was a competitive first week of action Victoria A began the defence of their Division One title with victories against Abbot Hall A and Staveley. On Monday night the hosts were pushed all the way by a resilient Abbot Hall A team before the champions ran out 6-4 winners.

The doubles partnership of A Medcalf and A Sanderson claimed the first points for the champions after a comfortable 21-12 win against R Taylor and M Scarborough before D Monks and K Atkinson routed The Abbot Hall partnership of C Baines and B Parsons 21-11.

Abbot Hall battled back through the partnerships of J Strickland and R Noble,before N Lobb and M Tattersall saw off Sue Hillbeck and Matthew Simpson 21-16.

However, Victoria sealed the win when Alan Gilpin and I Collier defeated Pete Blamire and C Robinson 21-16.

On Thursday Night Victoria eased past Staveley 8-2 as the champions made it two wins from two.

In the other Premier Division games, Holme A defeated Netherfield 8-2 while newly promoted Lindale saw off Windermere 6-4.

League One proved to be just as competitive after Victoria B,Milnthorpe and Subscription picked up 8-2 wins against Burneside,Heversham and Holme B respectively.

Burneside bounced back from their defeat earlier in the week after they saw off Sedbergh 6-4 on Thursday Night.

L Blackstone and I Mitchell claimed the first points for Burneside after they defeated Phil West and Tom Wilson 21-16.

Joey Bean and D Tugman eased past Carol Townson and Neil Howarth 21-14 before D Jackson and C Slinger eased past the Sedbergh partnership of William Lowther and Janet Baines 21-8.

Sedbergh played their part in a close encounter,while Carol Thompson and John Haygarth defeated J Tugman and B Ashley 21-19. Sedbergh also claimed further points through the partnership of Paul Sawyer and Geoff Thompson who eased past B Potts and S Blackstone 21-14.