Netherfield Cricket Club won the Readers Cup after they sauntered to an emphatic 108-run victory over Lancaster in the final at Parkside Road.

Ben Barrow's 90 from 98 balls and Tom Bruce's quickfire 58 guided the Field to a dominant 236-6 off 40 overs.

In reply three wickets each from Marc Hadwin, Tom Williamson and Lewis Richardson saw Lancaster whittled out for 128 off 31.4 overs as Netherfield celebrated their first Readers Cup success since 2008.

After being asked to bat by the visitors, Barrow and Brad Earl laid the foundation thanks to a first wicket stand of 47, both batted superbly, while Lancaster struggled in the field.

Lancaster broke the early momentum after Earl was run out for 16 off 19 balls, however despite the dismissal, Netherfield quickly regained their composure thanks to Barrow and Williamson who guided their side onto 116.

The visitors broke through for a second time after Williamson picked out Liam Moffat off the bowling of Alex Metcalfe, with Williamson dismissed for 16 off 54 balls.

Netherfield in a comfortable position continued to build up the runs as Barrow and Bruce pushed the score onto 150.

However the skipper's quest for a century came to an end when he was caught and bowled by Kieran Moffat for 90.

The destructive combination of Bruce and John Huck blasted Netherfield into an unassailable 231-run lead, with Bruce hitting four sixes, while Huck replied with three fours and three sixes of his own.

Lancaster claimed a late surge of wickets after Bruce and Huck were dismissed by Moffat before Daniel Ingham fell to Ben Simm, as Netherfield closed on an imposing score of 236-6.

In reply Lancaster made a slow but steady start after both Jamie Heywood and Lee Sparks put on a first wicket stand of 23, however Netherfield quickly got into the visitors after Sparks picked out Earl off the bowling of James Park-Johnson.

Heywood and sub professional Gareth Breese battled their side onto 56, before Jamie Heywood was caught behind by Huck after he played at a Hadwin delivery.

Netherfield continued to dominate when Ben Simm was stumped by Huck before Richardson and Williamson reduced the visitors down to 94-6.

Lancaster continued to lose wickets as Richardson finished with a return of 3-27 when Brendan Hetherington picked out Ingham, before Breese fell for 43 after his attempted drive was caught by Richardson off the bowling of Williamson.

Netherfield completed the win and claimed the trophy after Hadwin dismissed Liam Moffat, before Williamson trapped Callum East LBW to finish the game off as Lancaster were all out for 128.