MORE than 60 young cyclists took part in the first of Kendal Cycle Club’s 2018 Go-Ride Races at Heron Hill Primary School.

Girls and boys aged from four through to 12 competed in three events – a sprint, slow bike race and endurance race – for the chance to win a coveted medal and a prize provided by Wheelbase Cycles of Staveley who supported the event.

KCC’s Ivan Read took first place in the reception boys sprint and endurance events, which was enough to gain gold medal position, with Lewis Dalton (KCC) taking the silver after a closely fought battle with Harrison Dodd Hemmingway (HH) who took bronze. In the Reception girls race, Jessica Conway (KCC) took a hard earned gold medal, with Emily Lawton (KCC) a well deserved silver.

In the Year 1 and 2 Boys competition Harry Troughton’s (KCC) victory in the sprint combined with two third places were just enough to take gold medal by a single point from Nathan McWilliam (KCC). In the girls race Evie Capstick (KCC) just edged ahead of Rosie Speight (KCC) in a very close battle.

Year 3 and 4 girls gold medal went to Frida Gillson (KCC), with Holly Jenner (KCC) putting in a great performance in the slow bike race to take silver. KCC’s Tristan Jones finished in the top three in each race to take the Year 3 and 4 boys gold medal, with Harry Owen (KCC) taking silver.

The Year 5 and 6 girls race was dominated by Heron Hill’s Mia Lees who took victory in the sprint and slow bike race and third place in the endurance race. Eve Atkinson’s (HH) victory in the final race was enough to secure silver place from Lexi Stanley (HH) in bronze.

The Year 5 and 6 boys race was the largest field of the evening, with a joint gold medal awarded to Heron Hill’s Cameron Dunn, who won the sprint and endurance races, and KCC’s Rueben McWilliam who finished on equal points after performing the best track stands of the evening in the slow bike race. Silver medal was won by Alfie Addison (HH) who took second place in the sprint and endurance races. KCC’s Josh Wright won bronze.

Freddie Dobson (KCC) was the only rider to win all three races, getting a clean sweep in the Year 7 and 8 competition. Bobby Dobson (KCC) and Nicholas Jones (KCC) raced for silver and bronze medal respectively and Tilly Nichols (KCC) took a well-deserved girls gold.