HUNDREDS of Young Farmers and their supporters gathered in gloriously warm and sunny conditions to enjoy a day of fun and competitions on Saturday.

More than 100 individual competitions were held during Cumbria YFC’s Southern District Annual Field Day, which was hosted by the Metcalfe family at Rigmaden Farm, Mansergh, near Kirkby Lonsdale.

They included the Lakeland Dialect competition to produce a piece of prose or poetry entitled “Oor Wunnerful Dialect”, which was won by Eden Valley YFC’s Emma Metcalf for the third year running.

In the photography competition, Grace and Ruby Allan from Sedbergh YFC took first places in the open and junior sections while Rebecca Hurst’s creativity was rewarded with first place for the Kent Estuary YFC Scrap Book.

The host club, Sedbergh YFC, had an excellent result in the fun competitions, with Connie Hodgson and Thomas Moorhouse taking first in the AGM shirt dressing competition where young farmers had to see how many T-shirts they could put on at once.

And Eden Valley YFC members Craig Robinson and Paul Barrow took first prize in the fancy dress competition with their Shrek and Princess Fiona outfits.

The young farmers created some impressive floral displays which were much enjoyed by all the visitors. Grayrigg YFC excelled with Rachel Bland and Katie Waine taking first place in the junior and inter floral display competitions respectively. Cartmel YFC’s Emily Cowsill was placed first in the senior competition and Eden Valley’s Jack Wilson took top honours in the male floral art section.

The tug-of-war competitions were fiercely fought, with Pennine YFC’s hard work and practice paying off with them winning both the juniors’ and ladies’ competitions. Meanwhile, Sedbergh YFC were placed first in the men’s competition and Kent Estuary won the advisory members’ event.

Mrs Olive Clarke, OBE, JP,DL, FRAgS a Life Vice President of Young Farmers attended the field day and took a keen interest in all the competitions, stopping to chat to many young farmers and friends. Mrs Clarke became a young farmer in 1938 and remains to this day an enthusiastic and much- loved member of the Cumbria YFC family.

Jonathan Harper, the Field Day Chir commented on what a fantastic day it had been and went on to thank the Field Day Secretary, Rachel Bainbridge, for all her hard work and support. She also thanked; Mrs Dorrie Galbraith, Chief Steward, Mr Eddie Lord and the many judges and stewards who had helped make the day such a success.

Finally, Johnathan announced the much anticipated results:-

1st – Sedbergh (10079), 2nd – Grayrigg (9940), 3rd – Kent Estuary (9715), 4th – Lowick (9452), 5th – Pennine (9354), 6th – Broughton (9052), 7th – Eden Valley (8950), 8th – Crook (8356), 9th – Furness (7488), 10th – Cartmel (6487)

Trophies were awarded as follows:-

Cock of the North Shield - Overall Winners – Sedbergh YFC

W. Proctor Shield – Pre-Field Day – Kent Estuary YFC

NFU Trophy – Industrial Section – Lowick - YFC

Marsden Building Society Trophy – Fun Competitions – Sedbergh YFC

Haesler Trophy – Co-operatives – Pennine YFC

George Whitfield Trophy – Junior Stockjudging – Pennine YFC

Farming in the North – Girls Stockjudging – Grayrigg and Crook YFCs (joint 1st)

Paul’s Agricultural Perpetual Trophy – Dairy Stockjudging – Kent Estuary YFC

Flower Arranging Trophy – Flower Arranging – Grayrigg YFC

William Dargue Rosebowl – Best Overall Cookery – Grayrigg YFC

Westmorland County Agricultural Society Rose Bowl – National Cookery – Grayrigg YFC

Rusland Stockjudging Shield – Stockjudging – Kent Estuary YFC

Mrs Galbraith Cup – Display – Grayrigg YFC

The Galbraith Owl - Boy’s Cookery – Jack Dixon, Grayrigg YFC

Mr & Mrs Armitage Trophy Sheep Shearing – Furness YFC

Lakeland Dialect Society Trophy – Emma Metcalf, Eden Valley YFC

John Taylor Cup - Stock & Carcase Judging – Grayrigg YFC

Lakes Rally Trophy – Junior Competitions – Kent Estuary YFC

Barclays Bank Cup Skill & Craft Comps – Grayrigg YFC

Eden Farm Supplies Trophy – Machinery Handling – Kent Estuary YFC

Danielle Dixon Memorial Trophy -Best Overall Flower Arranging – Katie Wain, Grayrigg YFC

Nat West Treasurers Cup – Best Club Treasurer – Sam Wilson, Grayrigg YFC

Junior Craft Plate – Junior Craft – Eden Valley - Abbie Harrison YFC

John Dickinson Trophy – Most Improved Club Placing – Sedbergh YFC

The Cheese Company Trophy - Club Showing the Greatest Improvement – Sedbergh YFC

Cookson Postlethwaite Memorial Trophy – Photography – Sedbergh YFC

Andrew George Denney Memorial Trophy – Junior Stockjudging – Lowick YFCs

NFU TOW Trophy – Most Points Across all Classes – Pennine YFC

As the Field Day drew to a close, the young farmers took a well- earned break for a couple of hours before attending the night- time dance, to celebrate the end of a fantastic day.