HERE are the latest results for the Westmorland Cricket League.

Carnforth have announced that their first team will take up the option of moving to the Palace Shield for the 2022 season.

Their final game in the Westmorland League was at Sedgwick on Saturday. Asked to bat first the home side struggled against the metronomic Darren Nelson (3/12) and their recovery from 29/4 was thanks to an impressive 52 by Ali Howell, who made a maiden first division fifty. 

Chris Evans (25) and an unbroken 28 run stand for the last wicket between Jason Dalzell (22 not out) and Jonny Matthews (12 not out) enabled them to total 167/9, Jack Thompson weighing in with 3/35. Ryan Nelson (37) was the foundation of Carnforth’s reply, but when he stumped by Mike Bracken off Chris Evans (3/50) and Adam Hornby followed, Carnforth needed more than a run a ball, but Shane Dixon (42 not out), a season’s best by captain Brad Hoyle (33) and a muscular 21 not out from Tom Parkinson signed off on their recent history in the Westmorland League.

They have been a credit to the League, playing the game in the right way and will be missed.

Relegation won’t be settled until 30 September which is the deadline for a Palace Shield team to choose to move to Division 1 of the Westmorland League.

If a team is relegated it will be Silverdale who lost to Burneside by 17 runs.

Ethan Elwood (40), Jack Thwaites (57) and Ben Leacock (30) scored the bulk of the 161, Phil Mason taking 3/35 and Sam Letcher 4/42.

Only Jonny Mason (13) of the top six made double figures for Silverdale as Leacock (3/25) and Nathan Chambers (4/33) made hay, but Keith Forster (35) and Phil Mason (42) brought Silverdale back into the game, but they weren’t able to quite manage a win.

Trimpell scored 208/5 with Michael Bland (57), Mark Baldwin (46 not out) and Louis Armer (43 not out).

A rain interruption killed the game, but bare with 127/1 from 37 overs, with Frank Smith (34 not out) and Robbie White (74 not out), were able to gain the points to secure their Division 1 place for 2022.

The other games followed the same pattern of the side batting first scoring and being passed comfortably.

Arnside were all out for 68, and lost by 9 wickets against Heysham, Jamie Cassidy taking 5/17 for Heysham before Lewis Plackett scored 53 not out. Dylan Conroy (5/20) spearheaded Westgate bowling out Shireshead for 76.

Chris Carter made 42, whilst Joe Oliver took 5/16 as Westgate won by 5 wickets. Graeme Crowther (5/34) and Shaun Partridge (5/30) bowled out Milnthorpe for 66, before Alex Batson (27 not out) and Jack Bolton (34 not out) knocked off the target for the loss of 1 wicket.

Westgate 2nds beat Shireshead 2nds by 130 runs to secure the runners up position in Division 2. Champions Kirkby Lonsdale beat Ingleton by 10 wickets whilst only Sam Fletcher (37 not out) made double figures as Will Mead (3/10) and Alfie Hill (3/9) ran amok as Windermere were all out for 75, a total which Carnforth 2nd passed for the loss of four wickets.

The most exciting game of the day saw Cartmel recover from 46/8 with Jan Jacobus Weir (48 not out) and Andrew Holmes (58) sharing a 113 partnership for the ninth wicket. Juniors, Vaughan Samson (6/26) and Harris Wood (4/21) had done the damage but ECB bowling directives restrict the number of overs young bowlers can deliver and after his mandatory 14 overs out of the attack, Samson only needed four balls to capture the final two wickets.

Cartmel’s openers Stuart Bailey (3/32) and Jono Cooper (6/36) do not have to worry about restrictions, and were able to complete the turnaround, but not before 13-year-old Caleb Wilson (51) had impressed all present with his maiden fifty.

Cartmel won by 45 runs.

Sedgwick 2nds won the Division 3 League title when they defeated Galgate by 7 wickets.

Runners up Ambleside were held to a draw by Leven Valley. Ben Anderton scored 32 to finish his League season with 672 runs at an average of 67.2 for Bolton-le-Sands, but Ted Littlefair (5/20) and Joseph Varden (3/31) bowled out the visitors for 126. Charlie Outerside (50) made his first half century as Holme 2nds won by 7 wickets.

Morecambe 3rds beat Carnforth 3rds by 3 wickets.

Trimpell 2nds claimed the final promotion place from Division 4 beating Westgate 3rds by 5 wickets. Sunil Naikwadi (39) and John Hughes (38 not out) helped Westgate to 119/9, Andy Thomas taking 3/34 and Mike Logan 4/25 for Trimpell. David Kirkpatrick (29) and Andy Muir (30 not out) overcame early alarms to complete the promotion task.