Heysham are the new leaders of Division 1 after they comprehensively beat Westgate by 9 wickets.

Gary Tattersall (23) survived the early darts from the Heysham attack, but Jamie Cassidy (6/22) was in irresistible form on a pitch that was blameless as Westgate were all out for 58. Lewis Plackett (23 not out) and Lee Calverley (33) made short work of the target.

Heysham are now 6 points clear of Westgate, but it is a really tight league with Sedgwick and Shireshead only 2 points behind Westgate and Burneside also on the march.

All three teams won on Saturday. Jason Dalzell (4/23) and Tom Ridley (3/30) bowled out Kendal 2nds for 129, Terry Hunte making 37.

Aaron Lomas (52 not out) and Ali Howell (33 not out) guided them to a 7 wicket win.

Dave Jack (3/25) and Jack Cunnington (3/19) restricted Milnthorpe to 100/8 which Shireshead knocked off to win by 7 wickets, Jake Agar making 37 not out. Ben Philips (104) scored his second century of the season and has made 531 runs in the league which must give him a fighting chance of becoming the first batter in the league’s history to make 1000 runs in a season in the top Division.

With Lewis Richardson (45) and Jack Thwaites (42 not out) also in form Burnside made 275/9, James Crawford taking 4/73 and Lee Illingworth 3/97 for Arnside. Rob Shepherd (43) and Adam Richardson (45) led the response after Nathan Chambers (3/35) removed the top order. The game seemed to be drifting to a draw but Ethan Elwood (3/30) spun a web to wrap up the innings for 167.

Sedbergh School 2nd XI had wins against Kirkby Lonsdale on Saturday and Warton on Sunday in two close games.

They chased down 121 to beat Kirkby by 2 wickets and on Sunday posted 244/5 at Warton with fifties for Tom Newman, Matthew Harrison and Alec Martin. Tom Barnfield made 84 from 74 balls in the reply, but despite thirties from Graeme Crowther, Shaun Partridge and Jack Bolton the home side finished 14 runs short. Benjamin Starling took 4/46 for Sedbergh and Harrison 3/30. The Trimpell v Bare game was cancelled because sadly Trimpell have withdrawn their first team from the Division and will only retain one side playing in Division 3.

In Division 2 for the first time this season Holme came second best in a game. This was because of a brilliant 110 from Steve Creed. 3 of his first 4 scoring shots were sixes. In total he hit 7 sixes and 11 fours showing little love for running. Jim Craig’s 34 not out helped Westgate 2nds finish on 217/8, Ian Betley taking 3/62. Holme went all out for the win. They needed 47 from 5 overs and then 15 from the last, but finished 8 runs short on 209/8. Liam Teasdale made 40 and Charlie Outterside 44, whilst Oli Whatmuff took 3/43 and Jacob Vaughan 3/43.Shireshead 2nds reduced Holme’s lead to 18 points with a 77 run win against Coniston. Paul Yates (74 not out) provided the foundation for Shireshead to score 207/7 which was too many for Coniston on the day, Thomas Atkinson taking 3/21.

Graham Kellett (54), Chris Fleming (48) and Josh Townley (30) contributed to Ingleton’s 163, but Cartmel’s captain, Joe Cowperthwaite, is proving to be a force of nature taking 4/51 and then hammering 63 from 39 balls (7 fours, 5 sixes) showing he has even lower penchant for running than Steve Creed as only 5 of his runs were not in boundaries. James Lawson’s 3/23 couldn’t stop Cartmel from winning by 4 wickets. Netherfield 3rds beat Sedgwick 2nds by 6 wickets, whilst Ambleside beat Windermere by 89 runs. Carnforth 2nds young leg spinner, Myles Bowen took 4/35 whilst Glenn Russell (3/19) deployed his varieties to good effect as Silverdale were all out for 122, Phil Mason making 35. Mason removed Adam Hornby first ball and the game was in the balance at 48/3, but Russell (55 not out) and Stan Rich (30 not out) saw Carnforth home.

Carnforth 3rds played their home game against Holme away at Holme because of a fixture clash. Lewis Spurr batted well for 31, but Matty Wright (3/25) and Stuart Hunter (3/38) bowled Carnforth out for 122 which they passed for the loss of 4 wickets with Mike Halhead making 38 not out whilst Bowen continued his good weekend with 3/27. Chris Boniface took 4/10 for Division 3 leaders, Heysham 2nds in a 10 wicket win against Leven Valley. Richard Yates (30 not out) and Richard Townsend (41 not out) took them passed the target of 84. Morecambe 3rds are in second place with Adam Horrobin (56) top scoring in their 145/6 against Milnthorpe 22nds for whom Bob Bladwin took 3/23. Mark Armistead (5/6) and Lawrence Ramakannu (3/3) presided as Milnthorpe collapsed to 50 all out.

Trimpell’s Paul Thompson (48), Mark Baldwin (55) and Mike Bland (45 not out) took them to 192 against Galgate with Rob Speak taking 4/32 and Matthew Cooper 4/44. Speak made a brilliant 90, but received little support as his side was all out for 123. Kendal 3rds scored 216/9 against Bolton le Sands who replied with 157/9, with Megan Berry taking 5 wickets. Dan Smith (45) and Darren Barber (49) gave Arnside 2nds a positive start, but Brad Brentnail (5/30) pegged them back to 168 which was far too many as Silverdale were all out for 38.

Shireshead’s talented juniors Ben Brown (34) and Stan Collinson (61) provided the foundation that took them to the top of Division 4 with a 26 run win against Bare 2nds. 4/31 from Liam Burrow meant that the middle order failed to flourish and 149/8 looked below par. Burrow was also the key to Bare’s reply and when he was making 62 from 52 balls, Bare seemed bound to win, but he offered a catch to Dave Sloan which was gratefully taken, from the bowling of Rowan Yates (3/6) in the over after John Sharman had fallen lbw to Daniel Pye (4/32). With Brown taking 3/24, Shireshead’s young attack oversaw a collapse from 107/1 to 123 all out. Burneside 2nds are only two points behind with a game in hand after restricting Sedgwick 3rds to 99/8 and Mark Ward made 37 to guide his side to a 7 wicket win.

Marcus Palamountain (42) made his highest score in senior cricket, but Westgate 3rds were bowled out for 124 thanks to a brilliant exhibition of straight bowling from Ingleton’s Matt Young who took 7/17 (5 bowled 1 lbw). Unfortunately, only Jeremy and Thomas Duke who made 25 apiece could keep at bay Robbie Green whose 5/22 in Ingleton’s 78 was the third career best performance of the game. Callum Little’s 56 meant that Kirkby Lonsdale 2nds were able to total 130 despite Paul Gosling taking 6/47 for Coniston 2nds. Five batsmen made double figures for the visitors, but Kelly’s 15 was the highest as left arm spinner Henry Treverton took 4/35 in a 45 run win.

Dineshmanickam Annadurai (45), Surenthar Nedunchelian (43), Eddie Packard (34) and Nishanth Arun (32) all contributed to Morecambe 4ths making 200/7, Alistair Reeves taking 3/36 for Netherfield 4ths who could only make 121 in reply, Simon Coulton (33) top scoring while Nedunchelian took 3/30. Ulverston 3rds beat Sedbregh School 3rds by 8 runs in a high scoring game. Dan Marshall (78) and Jonah Lowes (57 not out) and a not insignificant 53 extras helped them to 203/4. At 47/4 Sedbergh were in trouble with Oliver Williams taking 3/34, but Harry Bellamy struck 68 from 37 balls (6 fours, 6 sixes) adding 87 with Amelia Oliver (24) but after they both fell there wasn’t quite enough runs in the later order.

Shireshead reached the Finals day of the Hackney & Leigh Trophy by beating Warton. Arnside 2nds beat Leven Valley and Kendal 3rds beat Silverdale 2nds to secure home ties in the Kendal Sports Trophies quarter-finals. In the Meyler Cup the last Westmorland League team Heysham lost by 8 wickets to Mawdsley.