THE Westmorland Cricket League sees their top division become a narrow race between two eager sides who are hungry for victory.

It is likely that Division 1 has become a two team race after Heysham beat Sedgwick and Westgate defeated Shireshead on Saturday. Heysham were indebted to Andy Hill (40) as they made 172, despite a season’s best from Jason Dalzell (5/33) with Tom Ridley chipping in with 3/48.

After the loss of an early wicket, Aaron Lomas (41) and Robbie Tattersall (8) dug in to take the visitors to 50/1, but they then collapsed to 79 all out with Graeme Cassidy taking 4/23 and Lewis Plackett a career best 5/14.

Westgate are six points behind after Craig Buchanan (63) anchored them to reach 168/6 with Tom Jacques taking 4/50 for Shireshead. Jacques (28) and Joe Cunliffe (25) gave them a good start, but once they were parted the innings faded away to 122 all out.

Zak Buchanan took 3/27 to reach the 30 wicket milestone for the season, and Shireshead are now 18 points behind Westgate having played a game more.

The surprise package this season is Bare. Perennial strugglers, they find themselves sixth and a mere 5 points from fourth, after an 81 run victory at Milnthorpe. Robbie White (39), Richard Neville (24) and Craig Albon (24 not out) took them to 148/5 before White took 5/4, his best figures for the club, as Milnthorpe folded for 59.

Kirkby Lonsdale must have fancied their chances as they bowled out Burneside for 126. A series of careless strokes meant that the Hackney & Leigh winners were dependent on Ethan Ellwood (30) and birthday boy, Curtis Nicholson (30) against good bowling led by James Royce and David Howell who took 4 wickets.

Kirkby then collapsed to 11/7 in the face of a devastating new ball attack from Ben Leacock (6/12).

Nick Swindlehurst and Luke Troughton gave the score some respectability but the home side were all out for 54 and still await a first win of the season.

Paul Simpson (3/18) and Harry Tugman (4/24) combined for Warton to bowl Kendal 2nds out for 105 who lost their last 9 wickets for 21 after Paidi Robinson (40) and Shane Hyland (34) had put them in a strong position. Bradley Gosling scored 49 not out as the target was passed for the loss of 3 wickets.

Holme are virtually nailed on for promotion after they beat third placed Cartmel by 135 runs. Holme are 22 points ahead of Shireshead 2nds, but a massive 57 points ahead of Cartmel.

They scored 250/6 declared in 38 overs on Saturday thanks to an imperious 134 not out from 93 balls from Brendan Herron, making his second hundred of the season.

He added 109 for the first wicket with skipper Liam Teasdale (31).

Brad Brentall took 3/64 for Cartmel. Jan Jacobus-Weir (36) and Tom Harvey (28) couldn’t stop Cartmel being all out for 115 with three wickets apiece for Joel Bibby (3/33), Herron (3/36) and Lee Barnes (3/21). Paul Yates (49), Rick Hamblett (85 from 67 balls) and Olly Wilkinson (37 not out) enabled Shireshead to declare on 225/4 against Silverdale, Phil Mason taking 3/46.

Mason made 29, but his team were dismissed for 101, Mike Mead taking 4/19 and Yates 3/35.

Coniston made a mammoth 300/5 declared with Robert Warne (83), Mike Burton (88) and Chris Lavery (67 not out).

Their club chairman, Nigel Dixon, was last seen scouring the records to verify that it is a new club record. Burton has passed the 500 run milestone in the League. Paul Salmon made 44 for Netherfield 3rds, but their 172 still left them with a 128 run defeat. Steve Gosling took 3/16 for Coniston.

Dave Hannigan (58) and Jacob Vaughan (62 not out) helped Westgate 2nds to 205/2 against Sedgwick 2nds who replied with 139, Dan Lawson making 42 whilst Sunil Naikwadi took 3/10. Ambleside beat Ingleton by 7 wickets and are in fourth place. Carnforth 2nds, boosted by 47 from the quietly prolific Glenn Russell (451 league runs at 45.1) and a 70 run stand for the 7th wicket between Alfie Hill (35) and Zach Dodds (24) , reached 184/8 against Windermere who were blown away by Tom Parkinson (7/24), Sam Harrison making 28 out of 60.

Heysham 2nds are 25 points clear in Division 3.

Captain Harry Wallbank (43) steered them to 175/7 against Silverdale 2nds despite David Hones (3/49). Gary Entwistle made 39, but with Chris Boniface taking 3/20, Silverdale were all out for 121.Morecambe 3rds are in second place beating Kendal 3rds by 93 runs. Kev Demain (42) and Oli Battersby (40) were the main men in 185/5, Thomas Bentley taking 4/20 for the visitors. Will Yarker (48) led the response, but Joe Singleton (4/19) ensured that they finished well short.

Rob Speak (3/34) and Matthew Cooper (4/20) restricted Holme 2nds to 136, which Galgate passed for the loss of 4 wickets thanks almost entirely to a career best 67 not out from Jack Bewsher. Matty Wright took 3/42 for Holme. Arnside 2nds made 198/8 and bowled out Trimpell for 151 whilst Leven Valley managed to defend 85/9 bowling out Milnthorpe 2nds for 62.

James Bousefield (31) was the main contributor for Bolton le Sand, but 4/12 from Gary Baxendale limited them to 117. Sam Barlow made 37 not out as Carnforth 3rds won by 6 wickets.

Bare 2nds are top of Division 4 after Lauren Burgess’ 4/15 led the attack as Morecambe 4ths were all out for 81, Nishanth Arun making 23.

Burgess now has 31 League wickets this season at an average of 8.26. Liam Burrow made 24 as Bare won by 7 wickets.

Teenagers Ben Brown (61) and Stan Collinson (51) added 89 for the first wicket for Shireshead 3rds who scored 179/8 against Netherfield 4ths for whom Julian Cann took 4/32. Simon Coulton made 24 as Netherfield were all out for 49, Collinson taking 3/1.

Mark Ward (50), Barney Coxon (47) and Marcus Oates (66) helped Burneside 2nds total 248/5 against Kirkby Lonsdale 2nds who made 136 in reply, Rupert Bunday (36) top scoring whilst Oates took 3/30 and Mike Allan 3/0. Ulverston 3rds beat Ingleton 2nds by 8 wickets with Rashid Ahmad taking 3/22 as the Yorkshiremen scored 76.Jonny Lowes made 45 not out in a straightforward win.

In the Moon & Coxhill Trophy Sedgwick 3rds beat Ulverston 3rds by 15 runs which means all three of their senior teams will have appeared in their respective finals days.

The British Rose Cricket finals day for Division 2 teams takes place from 10.30 am at Milnthorpe CC on Sunday 24th July after Shireshead 2nds beat Carnforth 2nds, and Ambleside beat Netherfield 3rds. Holme will play Sedgwick 2nds in the first game, with Ambleside taking on Shireshead 2nds in the second game.

The winners will compete for the trophy in the final starting at 5.30pm.