Some of the Lake District’s greatest ever literary giants from the past to the present day are going head-to-head in a unique competition to find Cumbria’s best ever book.

The works of William Wordsworth, Alfred Wainwright, Beatrix Potter and Arthur Ransome will compete against modern-day Lake District and Cumbrian writers for the first ever honorary accolade of its kind.

It means Millom wordsmith Norman Nicholson and Sir Hugh Walpole who wrote the acclaimed Cumberland family saga The Herries Chronicle, are listed alongside living authors such as lMelvyn Bragg and even Postman Pat creator John Cunliffe - who based his children’s character on his local postmaster in Kendal.

The honour will coincide with the 25th celebrations of the annual Lakeland Book of the Year competition - which has taken place every summer since 1984.

Cumbrian author Hunter Davies said: “To celebrate 25 successful years of awards, we would like to invite the public to look back at some of the very best authors and books ever published here.

"Voting is being opened up so everyone across the country can have a say in who wins the main award.

To vote and for a full list of authors and their books can be seen at the website below.

The winners will be announced at a special literary luncheon on Tuesday, July 7, at the Old England Hotel in Bowness.