EDEN District Council remains without a controlling party after voters went to the polls.

The Independents lost seven seats which were split between the Conservatives, who gained four, and Liberal Democrats, who gained three, bucking the national trend for the party.

It means the Conservatives have 16 seats, Independents have eight and Lib Dems have nine.

A surprise loss took place in Penrith North where Mike Davidson, leader of the Independent Alliance, lost his seat to Tory David Whipp.

After four years representing Penrith North, fellow Conservative Gordon Nicholson stood and won in the Lazonby ward.

He said: "I am pleased with how today has gone.

"We will be working over the weekend with the Independents to talk about forming an alliance.

"The loss of Mike Davidson was a bit of a shock but I think it just illustrates that you can take nothing for granted in this business."

After the Lib Dems gained in Appleby (Bongate), Long Marton, Raveonstonedale and Penrith North, Coun Peter Thornton said: "I am delighted with how things have gone today and especially pleased to hear about our gain in Appleby Bongate. The town had strong roots in traditional liberalism in the early 1900s and it's good to return a liberal candidate once again."

There was a surprisingly high turnout in rural areas of Eden - in Shap, it was 57.2 per cent and in Crosby Ravensworth it was 50.27 per cent.

The Lazonby ward was left empty after Independent councillor Tony Brunskill stood down.

Mr Brunskill faces trial on July 18 accused for child sex offences.

Alston Pat Goodwin, Independent, 486 (won), Alan Haldon, Independent, 177, Chris Harrison, Conservative, 390 (won), Peter Thompson, Independent, 161, Lindsay Williams, Labour, 242, Turnout 40 %.

Appleby (Appleby) Keith Morgan, Independent, uncontested.

Appleby (Bongate) Allan Armstrong, Conservative, 229, Andy Connell, Liberal Democrats, 338 (won), Turnout 37.05 %.

Askham Juliet Fossey, Liberal Democrats, 217 Michael Slee, Conservative, 328 (won), Turnout 43.12 %.

Brough Malcolm Smith, Independent, uncontested.

Crosby Ravensworth Joan Raine, Conservative, 457 (won), Alan Taylor, Liberal Democrats, 177, Turnout 50.27 %.

Dacre Hughie Harrison, Independent, uncontested.

Eamont Dennis Carlton, Liberal Democrats, 242, Harold Threlkeld, Independent, 324 (won), Turnout 44.8 %.

Greystoke David Huxley, Conservative, uncontested.

Hartside Shiela Orchard, Conservative, uncontested.

Hesket (2 councillors) Roger Burgin, Liberal Democrats, 392, Lesley Grisedale, Conservative, 581 (won), Debra Wicks, Conservative, 532 (won), Turnout TBA.

Kirkby Stephen (2 councillors) Trevor Ladhams, Independent, uncontested Paul Richardson, Independent, uncontested.

Kirkby Thore Henry Sawrey-Cookson, Independent, uncontested.

Kirkoswald Mary Robinson, Independent, uncontested.

Langwathby John Holliday, Independent, 389 (won), Alan Marsden, The Green Party, 213.

Lazonby Lynn Bates, The Green Party, 83, Fiona Millar, Liberal Democrats, 221, Gordon Nicholson, Conservative, 306 (won), Turnout 47.1 %.

Long Marton Dorothy Spence, Liberal Democrats, uncontested.

Morland Michael Tonkin, Independent, uncontested.

Orton with Tebay Adrian Todd, Conservative, 370 (won), Margaret Wilcox, Liberal Democrats, 208, Turnout 42.18 %.

Penrith Carleton Grattan Bowen, Liberal Democrats, uncontested.

Penrith East (2 councillors) Michael Eyles, Liberal Democrats, uncontested John Lynch, Conservative, uncontested.

Penrith North (3 councillors) Mike Davidson, Independent, 499, Judith Derbyshire, Liberal Democrats, 783 (won), Robin Howse, Liberal Democrats, 532 (won), Geoffrey Rockliffe-King, Labour, 304, David Whipp, Conservative, 574 (won), Turnout 37.6 %.

Penrith Pategill David Harding, Conservative, 162 (won), John Nicholson, Independent, 78, John Thompkins, Liberal Democrat, 148 Turnout 31.87 %.

Penrith South (2 councillors) Margaret Clark, Independent, uncontested Malcolm Temple, Conservative, uncontested.

Penrith West (2 councillors) Gordon Holt, BNP, 94, Dawn Stobbart, Liberal Democrats, 488 (won), John Thompson, Conservative, 318 (won), Turnout 29 %.

Ravenstonedale John Priestly, Conservative, 167, Ian Torkington, Liberal Democrats, 244 (won), Turnout 49.17 %.

Shap Neil Hughes, Liberal Democrats, 437 (won), Tom Lowther, Conservative, 230, Turnout 57 %.

Skelton Kevin Beaty, Conservative, uncontested.

Ullswater Syd Simpson, Conservative, uncontested.

Warcop William Patterson, Independent, uncontested.

Click on the link below for our gallery from the count.