NETHERFIELD won the local derby after they defeated Kendal by 64 runs on Bank Holiday Monday.

Ben Barrow's first innings knock of 64 and Josh Dixons top scoring 65 saw Netherfield close on 195-8.

However, it should have been more had it not been for some good bowling late into the first innings by Kendal where Chris Miller returned figures of 4-57.

Kendal battled in their reply as they made Netherfield work for the win.

However, Samuel Medhurst's return of 5-21 guided Ben Barrow's team to their fifth consecutive win as they bowled Kendal out for 131 off 43.2 overs.

Netherfield, who won the toss and elected to bat, made an imposing start after both Ben Barrow and Josh Dixon posted a first-wicket stand of 106.

The partnership saw Netherfield seize full control.

However, Kendal kept going and eventually made the breakthrough when Ben Barrow was stumped by Shane Hyland off the bowling of Chris Miller with the club captain departing for 64 off 97 balls.

Netherfield continued to pile on the runs despite the dismissal of Barrow with Josh Dixon and Shrikant Mundhe guiding the team onto 150.

Kendal though began to turn the tide in their favour after Mundhe picked out Paul Dodds off the bowling of Chris Miller.

And once Mundhe had departed, Kendal began to take more wickets when Finlay Richardson was caught behind by Hyland off the bowling of Chalana Da Silva before Chris Miller bowled Brad Earl.

Josh Dixon, who top scored with 65 off 121 balls, became the next man to depart when he was caught by Matthew Park off the bowling of Da Silva.

Miller closed on figures of 4-57 after he trapped Lewis Richardson LBW.

In the end, Kendal restricted Netherfield where Da Silva saw off James Bowman with Matthew Park running out Richie Forsyth as Netherfield closed on 195-8.

In reply, Netherfield worked their way through Kendal's top order, reducing the visitors onto 26-3, where Shrikant Mundhe saw off Darren Nightingale, who was caught by Richie Forsyth, before both Chris Miller and Harry Lee soon followed.

Miller fell to Samuel Medhurst before Lee was caught behind by Finlay Richardson off the bowling of Matt Jackson.

Chalana Da Silva attempted to rebuild the innings with some big hitting, however Kendal continued to lose wickets with Samuel Medhurst seeing off Oliver Tyson who was caught behind by Finlay Richardson before Medhurst picked up the wicket of Paul Dodds who was caught by Ben Barrow.

Da SIlvas innings eventually came to an end after Shirkant Mundhe clean bowled the Sri Lankan Professional for 48.Shane Hyland battled for Kendal as he began to frustrate Netherfield as Kendal stayed in the game, however Netherfield eventually broke through after Matt Jackson trapped Hyland LBW.

And with Hyland falling for a resistant 20 off 62 balls, Samuel Medhurst cleaned the tail up bowling both Alec Carradus and Kuldeep Singh as Kendal were bowled out for 131. Samuel Medhurst returning figures of 5-21.

The result means Netherfield are now fourth in the Northern Premier Cricket League Division One, whereas Kendal are sitting in two places below in sixth.

Following the game, Netherfield's Matt Jackson was presented with The David Wheatman Trophy.

Jackson, who recorded a combined 7-46 across the two Kendal Derby games this season.

Chris Wheatman and Mike Rigg both presented Jackson with the award.