NETHERFIELD retained the Twenty-20 Trophy after they defeated both Longridge and Morecambe on T20 Finals Day, which was hosted by the club last Sunday (September 5).

The Field, who are now eight-time winners of the trophy were pushed all the way on a day which was watched by a big crowd at Parkside Road.

Shrikant Mundhes second innings undefeated knock of 80 guided Netherfield to the trophy after they defeated Morecambe by 5 wickets in the final.

Mundhe who now goes home following a successful season with the club, unleashed some scintillating shots in a battling innings which saw his Netherfield side chase down Morecambe’s first innings total of 152-9.

Morecambe who have been relegated back to the Palace Shield, were indebted in the first innings to their club professional, Rongsen Jonathan, who posted a century knock of 104, where his runs made up a majority of the first innings total.

Netherfield were in trouble at the start of the second innings after being reduced to 59-3 before Mundhes exploits saw Netherfield celebrate in style.

Morecambe who won the toss and elected to bat made a steady start with Rongsen Jonathan and Ryan Pearson, however Netherfield made the breakthrough after Mundhe saw off Pearson who was caught by Brad Earl.

Netherfield continued to rip through the visitors' batting after Matt Jackson claimed the wicket of Kieran Moffat, who was caught by Mundhe.

Bowler Lewis Richardson then went on to claimed the Morecambe wickets of both Luke Pearson and Alex Briggs.

Fortunately for Morecambe, Jonathan kept the side in the game as the Indian professional hit some stunning shots from the batting crease, which cleared the ground

However, Netherfield continued to take wickets as Mundhe bowled Liam Moffat before running out Stefan Dixon.

And Samuel Medhurst closed with figures of 3-44 which included the prize wicket of Rongsen Jonathan as Morecambe closed on 152-9.

Netherfield struggled early in the second innings after Ben Barrow picked out Reuben Orr off the bowling of Louis Backhouse while Brad Earl fell to a stunning catch from Louis Backhouse off the bowling of Liam Moffat.

The visitors applied even more pressure after Joel Derham bowled Finlay Richardson while Tom Anderton was stumped by Reuben Orr off the bowling of Jonathan.

However, with the game going into the last over Mundhe sealed the win as he knocked the ball for four as Netherfield celebrated.

Earlier Netherfield defeated Longridge by 32 runs in the second semi-final.

Netherfield, batting first, posted a score of 137-9 with Reece Irving scoring an undefeated 22.

In reply, Oli Wilemans return of 4-12 guided Netherfield to victory as restricted Longridge who closed on 105-9.