Shireshead climbed to the top of Westmorland Cricket League Division One despite being held to a winning draw at Westgate.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, Shireshead made a steady start after both Simon Gould and Joe Cunliffe put on a first wicket stand of 22.

Once the partnership was broken, Danny Wilkinson came to the crease as he top scored with 52 off 81 balls.

When Wilkinson departed the Shireshead innings lost its way as they ended on 122-9, Zac Buchanan (4-26) doing most of the damage.

Westgate were reduced to 17-3 in their reply with Dave Jack (3-34) and James Rafferty (2-20) picking up a wicket each either side of a Rowan Upton run out. Gary Tattersall and Alex Briggs (43) put together the largest partnership of the innings as they pushed Westgate to 52 before Tattersall was dismissed.

Westgate inched towards their target as they required 15 from the last two overs. However, Jack bowled Buchanan with the first ball of the last over, and with six required to tie from the last ball a run out ensured Shireshead claimed the ninth Westgate wicket to claim 10 points for a winning draw as Westgate finished with four points.

In the other games Carnforth picked up a 12 point win at Windermere. Darren Nelson returned figures of 3-50 as Windermere were restricted to 115-9. Nick Lewthwaite who was dropped twice top scored with 46.

Carnforth’s reply started poorly after they were reduced to 50-7, but a partnership of 40 between Alex Benson and Rob Pearcy eased the pressure, and despite losing two more wickets Horsfall edged Carnforth over the line.

There was also a crucial win for Warton who defeated Burneside. Warton declared on 175-5 thanks to Ryan Nelson's 85 and T Barnfield's 58

Burneside battled in their reply with Dan Greenwood (44) and Tim Blamire (21), But Cassidy's return of 7-35 saw Burneside all out for 129.

Arnside claimed a winning draw at Silverdale as A Richardson posted an unbeaten 118 as Arnside closed on 210-7. Silverdale battled in response and closed on 165/9.

The final game saw Milnthorpe pick up 15 points with victory over Ambleside. Milnthorpe posted an imposing score of 191-8. M Wills top scored with 55, while J Bingley (50) also contributed. Ambleside were all out for 62 thanks to J Parkinson's return of 5-20.