ONE of the area's major cricket leagues will have a new identity from this month.

At the North Lancashire and Cumbria Cricket League's AGM this week, it was agreed that the organisation will now be known simply as the Cumbria Cricket League.

The move, which the league's Twitter account described as "big news," is a significant one as it reflects the changing make up of the league.

Several teams from the east and south of the county have left to join other leagues in recent years with current member clubs largely being concentrated in coastal areas to the west of the county.

The AGM also saw thanks extended to departing chairman Gary Postlethwaite, who has given many years of service to the league.

In addition, the draw for next season's Higson Cup was made.

The first round ties are: Keswick v Lindal, Furness v Dalton, Wigton v Workington and Millom v Cockermouth. Egremont, Cleator, Whitehaven and Carlisle have received byes into the second round.

In other news this week, Lindal have announced that Sri Lankan batsman Oshada Fernando has joined the club as player coach for the 2019 season.