Burton B won the annual Kendal and District Table Tennis League Divisional Shield tournament, which took place in the Dallam School Sports Centre on Sunday.

Twelve teams competed in two divisions, with all teams playing in a round robin event and Burton B – represented by Shelley Rhodes and Bob Quick – coming out on top of Division One with four wins out of four. Natland B’s three man team of Mark Ashburn, James Burton and Andrew Hudson were runners up with three.

In Division 2, two groups were played, with Natland E2, represented by Samuel Medhurst and David Vyner Brooks winning Group A for the right to play Group B top dogs Natland C – Peter Leahy and James Robinson –in the final. Medhurst and Vyner Brooks proved too strong and ran out winners by 172 points to 154.

Meanwhile, competitive play in the League continued with title challengers IBIS and Natland A engaged in a crucial encounter at the top of Division One, with IBIS clinching a 24-16 victory.

Natland won the first three matches only to lose the next seven as Steve Dixon, James McGrath and Harry Carter each won two singles matches for IBIS with Dixon and McGrath combining to win the doubles.

The third title contender, Burton A, consolidated top spot with a 29-6 defeat of Dallam A. They almost completed a whitewash before James Neal recovered from a 2-0 deficit.