The Kendal and District Bowling League returns on Tuesday, April 2, in what promises to be a hugely competitive campaign across all six divisions.

In Division One, Victoria A will begin the defence of their title with a home game against Victoria B. The A Team, captained by Alan Gilpin, will be hoping to continue from their success last season, which saw them dominate the division.

Holme A, who finished second in the table, will be keen to reclaim the title and start their campaign against Holme B.

In the other games Levens A entertain Hale A; Lindale A are home to Staveley A; Burneside A host Netherfield A, while Windermere A are home to Burton A.

In Division Two Abbot Hall A are home to Allithwaite A' Ambleside A play Ambleside B; Burton B play Windermere B; Crosthwaite A host Levens B; Kirkby Lonsdale A play Subscription A and Netherfield B face off against Netherfield C.

Allithwaite B play Allithwaite C in Division Three, while the stand-out game sees Endmoor A play Sedbergh.

Division Four, Five and Six begin their season on Thursday, April 4. The main game will be the derby encounter between Subscription B and Victoria D in Division Four.

In Division Five the stand-out game will be between Burneside C and Staveley B, while in Division Si, Milnthorpe B entertain Milnthorpe C.

The league has appointed Chris Hill as the new competitions secretary, with Iladoya Imevbore taking over as the new membership and administrative secretary.

Denise Noble is the president of the league, Colin Haworth continues as vice chairman, while Alan Gilpin becomes the treasurer.

Opening fixtures:

Tuesday, April 2:

Division One: Victoria A v Victoria Holme A v Holme B,Levens A v Hale A, Lindale A b Staveley A, Burneside A v Netherfield A, Windermere A v Burton A

Division Two: Abbot Hall A v Allithwaite A, Ambleside A v Ambleside, Burton B v Windermere B, Crosthwaite A v Levens B, Kirkby Lonsdale A v Subscription A, Netherfield B v Netherfield C

Division Three: Allithwaite B v Allithwaite C, Arnside A v Ingleborough A, Endmoor A v Sedbergh,Lower Holker A v Heversham A

Division Six: Subscription D v Endmoor C

Thursday, April 4: Division Three: Victoria C v Milnthorpe A, Windermere C v Holme C,

Division Four: Abbot Hall B v Hawkshead, Arnside B v Lindale B, Langdale v Bowness A, Lower Holker B v Hale B ,Netherfield D v Burneside B, Subscription B v Victoria D

Division Five: Burneside C v Staveley B, Crosthwaite B v Subscription C, Endmoor B v Levens C,Holme D v Windermere D, Ingleborough B v Heversham B,Lindale C v Kirkby Lonsdale B

Division Six: Allithwaite D v Ambleside C,Bowness B v Sedbergh B,Milnthorpe B v Milnthorpe C,Silverdale v Burton-in-Lonsdale,Staveley C v Burneside D.