South Westmorland Senior Bowling League Review:

The South Westmorland Senior Bowling League continued on what could be a crucial round of action across all five divisions.

In Division One, Victoria A are now five points clear at the top after they defeated defending champions Netherfield A 6-2 at Parkside Road.

Both teams who were first and second respectively knew that whoever won this game would hold the advantage going into the last few months of the season.

Victoria made a steady start after Bob Newby and Martin Gilpin won 21-14 in the doubles game against Roger Townsend and Tony Dixon, while Geoff Thompson saw off John Capstick 21-13.

Netherfields best result saw Mal Barker and Peter Shepherd defeat Terry Mercer and Chris Wyatt 21-6, before Rod Holmes eased past Mick Simpson 21-11.

However Victoria continued to pick up points after Keith Atkinson claimed the best result with an impressive 21-12 win against Sue Hogarth, while Alan Medcalf sealed the points after he defeated Roy Crompton 21-15.

In the other games Holme A defeated Windermere A 8-0,Lindale A eased past Netherfield B 6-2,Silverdale A won 5-3 at Springfield A,Burneside A saw off Subscription A 8-0,while Warton A defeated Levens A 6-2.

Carnforth A are six points clear at the top of Division Two despite being held to a 4-4 draw with Bolton Le Sands A.

Abbot Hall A defeated Crosthwaite A 8-0, Allithwaite A impressed with a impressive 7-1 victory against Warton B while Kirkby Lonsdale A won by the same score with victory at Arnside A.

In the final games Ingleborough A and Netherfield C both claimed respective 6-2 wins over Lower Holker A and Heversham A.

Sedbergh B and Levens B picked up respective 7-1 wins over Abbot Hall B and Lindale B in Division Three.

Endmoor A defeated Carnforth B 6-2, while Lower Holker B won by the same score with victory against Bowness A.

However Milnthorpe A and Burton in Lonsdale drew 4-4 before the game between Hawkshead and Burneside B also ended up as a 4-4 draw.

In Division Four there were 6-2 wins for Crosthwaite B, Subscription B and Victoria B who all picked up respective wins against Springfield B, Holme B and Allithwaite B while Ingleborough B won 5-3 at Kirkby Lonsdale B.

Bolton Le Sands B and Heversham B picked up crucial wins in Division Five!