FOR the second time in three weeks, the entire Westmorland Cricket League programme was washed out last weekend.

All across the area, grounds were waterlogged and the continuing downpours prevented any play being possible in ay of the games scheduled for Saturday.

However, the elements eventually relented and the sterling efforts of the Ingleton club meant that the Division 2 and Division 3 Cup Finals were played on Sunday.

In the Division 2 final, Cartmel triumphed after posting a formidable 170/7.

William Anderson (17) and Jono Cooper (10) gave their side a flying start, which was built on by 49 from 26 balls from Jan Jacobus Weir who hit 3 fours and 5 sixes.

Joe Cowperthwaite (21) and Tom Harvey (30 not out) maintained the pressure on the bowlers, Harvey scoring 28 from the last 9 balls he faced as 40 came from the last 2 overs.

Gary Baxendale (2/17) was the pick of the bowlers.

Carnforth needed a quick start, but Joe Atkinson (1/21) and Cooper (1/12) didn’t allow it with some fine accurate bowling.

Captain Neil Dugdale made a valiant 57 from 36 balls, but although he added 52 in 7 overs with Sam Lister (21) the asking rate was always a problem.

John Burton (3/34) eventually broke the partnership and with Stuart Baines (2/21) bowled out Carnforth for 125 in the 18th over, with Glenn Russell unable to bat because of a finger injury.

Dugdale was named man of the match, but it was Cartmel who were celebrating long into the night their greatest achievement since they won the Division 1 Cup in 1980, which was the last hurrah for the golden generation of the 1970s.

In the Division 3 Final, sponsored by Kendal Trophies, man of the match Sam Harrison’s 87 not out enabled Windermere to total 181/5.

Harrison hit 12 fours and 2 sixes, adding 68 with Sam Fletcher (33).

Dan Sykes (19) and Will Aspinwall (11) provided good support.

Kristian Petterson with 1/25 was the pick of the bowlers for Holme A.

Holme’s reply was strangled by Fletcher (1/6) and Aspinwall (1/10).

Denzil Henderson (3/31) and Zak Gillespie (2/3) took wickets and that meant that although Charlie Outerside, Mike Hunter, Trevor Metcalfe and Mike Halhead all made double figures, the innings eventually fizzled out with the scoreboard showing 99/8.

Finally, a reminder that the replayed Hackney and Leigh Final between Arnside and Carnforth will take place this Sunday, August 18.

Start time is 2pm.