DIVISION One Leaders Victoria crashed to a surprise 6-2 defeat at Silverdale A on a dramatic round of action in the South Westmorland Senior Bowling League.

Victoria, who are now just four points clear at the top, struggled after Alan Lowe defeated Geoff Thompson 21-15.

Silverdale continued to impress following Dave Green's 21-10 victory against Alan Medcalf while in the doubles Nora Proos and John Booth defeated the Victoria pairing of Bob Newby and Terry Mercer by the same score.

And the hosts sealed the win thanks to Geoff Jackson and Derrick Pickering’s 21-15 win over Mick Simpson and Chris Wyatt.

Victoria’s best results came from Martin Gilpin who remains undefeated in the league following his 21-15 victory against Jack Smith while Keith Atkinson edged out Keith Earnshaw 21-18.

Netherfield A remain second after they edged out Subscription A 5-3 while Levens A, Lindale A and Warton A all picked up respective 6-2 wins against Windermere A, Springfield A and Netherfield B.

And in the final game Holme A held their nerve before defeating Burneside A 5-3 in a thrilling contest.

Kirkby Lonsdale A are one point clear at the top of Division Two following their 8-0 win against Bolton-le-Sands A, and Carnforth A are in second place after a 6-2 win at Warton B.

In the other games, Lower Holker A and Arnside A picked up respective 7-2 victories over Abbot Hall A and Ingleborough A while Heversham A defeated Allithwaite A 5-3.

Lower Holker B closed in on the Division Three title after they defeated Abbot Hall B 7-1.

Endmoor A won 6-2 at Levens B, while Bowness A edged out Lindale B and there were respective 6-2 wins for Hawkshead, Burneside B and Milnthorpe A who saw off Sedbergh B, Burton in Lonsdale and Carnforth B.

In Division Four, Victoria B and Ingleborough B both claimed respective 7-1 wins against Springfield B and Windermere B, Subscription B won 5-3 at Allithwaite B while Crosthwaite B saw off Kirkby Lonsdale B 8-0.

Endmoor B, Bolton Le Sands B, Heversham B and Sedbergh A all picked up crucial wins in Division Five.