A VERY competitive closing day of action saw Victoria A crowned South Westmorland Senior League Division One champions.

The leaders knew a win was vital at Holme A with Netherfield A just a few points behind, and they rose to the challenge to secure an impressive 6-2 win.

Billy Caldwell claimed the best result after he defeated Mike Fell 21-8, while Mick Simpson saw off Caroline Schofield 21-11.

Holme stayed in the game when Dave McCroy chalked up their best victory with a 21-8 win over Bob Newby before Tom Baxter battled past Andy Procter 21-10.

However Victoria sealed the title with two crucial wins in the doubles matches as Alan Medcalf and Chris Wyatt saw off Ian Hayton and Alan Hine 21-18 and Geoff Thompson and John Iddon defeated Alice Thomas and Peter Sudworth by the same scoreline.

Netherfield A held on to the runners up spot despite losing their final game 5-3 to Levens A at Parkside Road.

Subscription A lost 7-1 to Warton A and are relegated, as are Windermere A who lost 6-2 at home to Netherfield B,while in the other top flight matches, Springfield A defeated Burneside A 7-1, while Lindale A saw off Silverdale A 6-2.

Kirkby Lonsdale A and Carnforth A were promoted from Division Two after claiming respective wins over Ingleborough A and Crosthwaite A.

The defeat for Ingleborough saw them relegated with Heversham A who lost 8-0 to Bolton-le-Sands A.

Abbot Hall A beat Warton B 5-3 and Allithwaite A saw off Arnside A by the same score.

The stand out games of Division Three saw Carnforth B seal promotion with a 7-1 win at Burneside B, while already promoted Lower Holker B saw off Burton-in-Lonsdale 6-2.

Lindale B and Abbot Hall B were relegated despite picking up respective 5-3 wins over Endmoor A and Milnthorpe A.

In Division Four, Windermere B avoided relegation after winning 5-3 at Victoria B, with Holme B and Allithwaite B going down, while in Division Five, already promoted Bolton-le-Sands B beat Netherfield D 7-1.