A BEN Thomas goal was not enough to save Milnthorpe Corinthians who bowed out of the West Lancashire League Presidents Cup after losing 3-1 to visitors Horwich St Marys Victoria.

Joby Patel opened the scoring for the Horwich side after 32 minutes and though Thomas levelled for Corinthians four minutes later, Sam Parkinson edged Horwich in front just before half time.

Parkinson went onto score his second and the visitors' third five minutes in the second half as they eventually ran out 3-1 winners.

In Division One, Kendal County lost 3-1 at Wyre Villa, while in Division Two Kendal United lost 3-1 at Charnock Richard Reserves with Bailey Kenny scoring the consolation for United.

County, who have announced the appointment of Richard Close as their new manager, entertain Askam United at the weekend while Kendal United travel to Freckleton and Milnthorpe Corinthians entertain Kirkoswald in the Benevolent Trophy.

All games kick off at 2pm.

Appleby remain joint top of James Cropper Westmorland League Division One after retaining their 100 per cent league record with a hard fought 4-2 victory over Penrith Reserves.

Goals by Liam Kinnear, Dan Robinson, Josh Addison Adams and Ben Jackson proved to be enough for the league leaders.

Windermere remain joint top with Appleby following a battling 2-0 win against Endmoor KGR, while Alex Johnson’s hat trick saw Wetheriggs United defeat Sedbergh and Dent United 6-4.

Goals by Luke Frazer and Elliot Twentyman guided Shap to their first win of the season when they defeated Kirkoswald 2-1.

In Division Two, Greystoke won 2-1 at Kendal United Reserves, Windermere Reserves saw off Ibis Reserves 3-1, Keswick Reserves defeated Appleby Reserves 4-1 while AFC Carlisle won 1-0 at Staveley United.

Kendal County Reserves progressed into the next round of the Junior Cup following a resounding 5-0 win at Burton Thistle.

Jacob Matthews, Jacob Carway, Darren Huck and Jack Brench scored the goals for Kris Clough's Team.

Kirkby Stephen also progressed following a 2-1 win at Arnside.

In Division Three, Langwathby United won 3-2 at Braithwaite while Wetheriggs United Reserves won by the same score at Endmoor KGR Reserves.

Kirkoswald Reserves edged out Eden Thistle 1-0, Penrith Royal routed Ullswater United 4-0 while Staveley United Reserves defeated Sedbergh and Dent United A 2-0.