THE WESTMORLAND Cricket League had a full weekend of league and cup action, as the delayed season enters into its final few weeks.

Carnforth had a yet another dominant weekend where they solidified their position at the top of Division One A following an emphatic 90 run victory at Silverdale, before they went onto win the Hackney & Leigh Cup the following day where they saw off Westgate by just four wickets.

The final proved to be hugely competitive, where Stan Rich returned first innings figures of 4-7 as Westgate were restricted to 106-8 off 20 overs.

Westgate pushed Carnforth during the second innings where Dylan Conroy picked up figures of 4-14.

Carnforth, who were under pressure, managed to seal the victory thanks to an undefeated knock of 41 by Chris Parry, while Tom Parkinson’s 28 also proved crucial as the team from Lodge Quarry celebrated.

Elsewhere, Alex Bensons knock of 84 and Mike Wills return of 6-25 eased Sedgwick to victory where they saw off Milnthorpe by 89 runs. While Graeme Crowther’s return of 4-25 helped Arnside to a five wicket win against Heysham.

In Division One B, Westgate won by 83 runs at Heysham, with Andrew Nisbet returning figures of 5-22, while Craig Buchanen had earlier top scored with 69.

Trimpell edged out Burneside by 11 runs with Michael Blands undefeated 61 proving critical in the first innings before Stu Burrow and Rob Cope claimed 3 wickets apiece as Burneside reached 127 off 44.2 overs.

However, the stand out performance of the afternoon came from Dave Jack who returned stunning second innings figures of 9-15 after he guided Shireshead to a resounding 102 run victory against Bare A. Kendal Thirds won the Moon and Coxhill Division Four Cup after they defeated Burneside seconds by six wickets. Trent Knowles first innings return of 5-21 saw Kendal bowl Burneside out for 80 off 16.4 overs, and Kendal knocked the runs off thanks to Freddie Prices knock of 37.

Cartmel won the British Rose Cricket Division Two cup where they saw off Shireshead by 7 wickets, while Galgate won the Kendal Trophies Division Three Cup final.