CARNFORTH Rangers are champions of the Premier League for the first time in their history after beating already-relegated Swarthmoor Social Club 1-0. After good defending from Swarthmoor, captain Gavin Darby scored a penalty in the 41st minute after a handball to give Rangers the lead and they looked nervy as the game wore on.

In the 76th minute, hearts must have been in Carnforth mouths when Graham Wilcox appeared to have equalised only for the referee to rule the goal out, and they went on to claim the title.

Arnside ensured Premier Division safety by beating Cartmel 2-1 midweek.

Meanwhile in Division One, Kirkby Lonsdale had to beat Tic Dynamos/Overton/Middleton, who were already promoted, to claim the one place left to move up to the Premier Division themselves.Despite having the lion’s share of possession they simply could not score, and were forced to accept a 0-0 draw, meaning College AFC took the second promotion spot.

It looks likely that Grange will join Morecambe Royals in Division Two. Cartmel Reserves, who looked certainties for the drop a few months ago, have been in superb form, which included a brilliant 1-0 win against Kirkby Lonsdale, are level on points with Grange but they have two games in hand.

Carnforth Rangers Reserves have been joined by Tic Dynamos/Overton/Middleton Reserves in securing promotion from Division Two, while Bentham Reserves have been relegated with Torrisholme FC.

In Division Three, Moor Lane FC are champions with Lancaster Rovers as runners-up, while Gregson FC were relegated after Allithwaite Rangers resigned earlier in the season.

And in Division Four Millhead Reserves won the league and Whittle Wanderers finished second.