NETHERFIELD won the Twenty-20 competition for a fifth time after successfully defeating both Blackpool and Leyland on Finals Day at Penrith Cricket Club.

The Field defeated Blackpool by 60 runs in the semi final as Ben Barrow posted a top score of 37, while Lewis Edge chipped in with 36 as Netherfield posted a competitive first innings total of 157-8.

In reply, Netherfield bowled Blackpool out for 97 off 19.1 overs, with Tom Williamson returning figures of 3-13.

In the final, Netherfield saw off Leyland by 35 runs. Obus Pienaar top scored with 64 as Netherfield closed on 127-7, before Pienaar's return of 3-15 and two wickets apiece from Daniel Ingham and Mark Clarkson saw Leyland all out for 92 off 19.1 overs.

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first in the final, Netherfield made a steady start as Barrow and Edge made just 14 for the first wicket. Leyland made the early breakthrough when Barrow picked out Andrew Jacques off the bowling of Will Jacques.

The wicket gave Leyland some momentum as Netherfield were reduced to 49-4 after Jacques picked up the wicket of Edge, while Andrew Jacques dismissed John Huck before Andrew Bretherton bowled Josh Dixon.

Brad Earl and Pienaar shifted the momentum as Netherfield pushed onto 83. Leyland broke the partnership when Earl picked out Tom Reece off the bowling of Karl Cross.

However Pienaar and Ingham eased Netherfield onto 112, before Ingham was caught by Will Jacques off the bowling of Andrew Jacques.

Pienaar, who went onto top score with 64 off 50 balls, was the next man to be dismissed as the South African became Will Jacques' third victim of the afternoon as he finished with a return of 3-26.

Mark Clarkson posted an undefeated knock off 11 while Williamson chipped in with three runs as Netherfield closed on 127-7.

Leyland made a strong start in their reply as Pabasara Waduga and Cross put on a first wicket stand of 39.

However, Netherfield gained control as Waduga was stumped by Edge off the bowling of Pienaar, while Clarkson trapped Cross LBW as Leyland fell onto 41-2.

The wickets continued to fall as Ross Bretherton was run out, before Williamson picked up the wicket of Tom Reece who was stumped by Edge.

Pienaar finished with a return of 3-15 after claiming the wickets of Andrew Makinson and James Chaplin before Marc Hadwin clean bowled James Rounding.

Ingham, brought into the attack ,dismissed both Andrew Jacques and Alex Williams before Clarkson bowled David Makinson as Leyland were all out for 92 off 19.1 overs as Netherfield celebrated.