The annual Divisional Shield tournament, run by the Kendal & District Table Tennis League, took place at the Dallam School Sports Centre in Milnthorpe.

16 teams competed across three divisions.

Burton A, represented by Peter and Stephen Baxendale, were Division One champions, winning all of their matches in a five team round robin.

Runners-up were Natland B, represented by Tamas Bacsi and Andrew Hudson.

The Division Three final was between Natland E (James Robinson and Bence Bacsi) and Crook C (John Hardwick and Hugh Simmons). Natland won by 148.5 points to 131.

Eight teams entered a very competitive Division Two competition and the final between Crook B (Mike Taylor and John Wood) and Burton B (Bryan and Shelley Rhodes) will take place at a later date at a neutral venue.

Meanwhile, in Division One of the KDTTL, defending champions Dalton A moved to within one point of leaders Natland A, following a 9-1 win against Natland B.

Keith Dymond, returning from injury, and Ben McDonald were both unbeaten. Andrea Jorkisch’s 11-7, 11-5, 11-9 defeat of Alan Turner prevented a whitewash.

In Division Two, Kirkby Stephen A, with the 10-0 thrashing of Dallam B, moved into 3rd place and within four points of 2nd placed Natland D. The Kirkby Stephen trio of Peter George, Andrew Leach and Jake Haygarth were all unbeaten.

Crook C maintained their lead at the top of Division Three with a comfortable 26-13 win against fellow promotion chasers Kirkby Stephen B.

Social table tennis continues at the Kendal Table Tennis Club, 7-9pm on Tuesday evenings at the Kendal Leisure Centre. Adult table tennis enthusiasts are encouraged to have a go (£3 fee).