THE 66th annual open show run by Over Kellet and District Horticultural Society took place on Saturday in the village hall.

Visitors enjoyed the high quality displays of late summer flowers, vegetable and local baking.

Society chairman Arie Klijn said that although there was a major increase in the number of horticultural entries this had been offset by reductions of handicraft and children’s entries.

Overall, entries were up by about eight per cent.

Morecambe and Lunesdale MP David Morris, who presented the trophies, described the display as “fantastic”.

Results The Clara Hayton Memorial Trophy: Kevin Briggs. Cecil E Taylor Memorial Trophy: Bernard Deeks. Hall Garth Trophy: Brian Noon. F I Townsend Cup: Kevin Briggs. P Wellock Memorial Trophy: Eric Greenough. Elizabeth Wilson Cup: Dave Woodhouse. Wellesley Wilson Cup: M Briscoe. Flower and Plant Centre Trophy: Don Hack. James Carter Memorial Trophy: Brian Noon. Rose Bowl Perpetual Challenge Trophy: Kevin Briggs. Geoff Makinson Memorial Trophy: Allan Brown. Cutforth Cup: Bill Stables. Penton Bowl: A&O Western. John Robert Lambert Challenge Cup: Brian Noon. Banksian Medal: Bill Stables. Cannan and Isobel Dixon Memorial Trophy: Beryl Morphet. The Dixon Family Cup: Delia Marwood. Florence Manleigh Cup: Liz Brewster. D G Hopewell Perpetual Trophy: Anthony Wells. Women’s Institute Trophy by Miss Wilkinson: Daphne Bater. Silver Pierced Cake Dish: B Dixon. Parkinson Trophy: Sally Swindell. Infants Children’s Cup: Zara Hird. Lower Juniors Children’s Cup: Jessica Sambrook. Upper Juniors Children’s Cup: Ethan Burkhart. Teenagers’ Trophy: Adam Burkhart. Members’ Challenge Trophy: Kevin Briggs. The Westmorland and North Lancashire Federation of Horticultural Show Societies Blue Ribbon: Dave Woodhouse.