THE Liberal Democrats have held on to their Windermere seats on both the district and county councils following last night’s by-elections.

But the party saw their majority slashed for the county council seat, winning by 251 votes compared to more than 800 in last year's elections.

A closely-fought battle between Lib Dem Colin Jones and the Conservatives’ Ben Berry saw Jones elected with 1,061 votes.

Coun Berry gained 810 votes in a by-election that saw a high turnout of 44.27 per cent.


The close result has been put down to public anger over Lib Dem plans to introduce on-street parking charges on the Glebe.

In the district council vote Lib Dem candidate Dyan Jones stormed to victory with 416 votes – more than the votes of the other two candidates put together.

The by-elections were called following the sudden death of Coun Jo Stephenson in July.

Lib Dem Coun Stephenson was county councillor for Windermere and also represented Windermere Town on South Lakeland District Council (SLDC).


Windermere Town Ward (South Lakeland District Council)

Gwen HARRISON (Green Party): 50

Dyan JONES (Liberal Democrats): 416 (elected)

Sandra LILLEY (Conservative Party): 184

Turnout: 39.42%


Windermere Electoral Division (Cumbria County Council)

Ben BERRY (Conservative Party): 810

Gwen HARRISON (Green Party): 61

Colin JONES (Liberal Democrats): 1061 (elected)

Robert Graham JUDSON (Independent): 123

Turnout: 44.27%