HUNDREDS of pupils' achievements and successes were celebrated at a Lake District school's annual prize giving ceremony.

Students and staff from Windermere School, along with family and friends, filled the sports hall to celebrate the special occasion and to reflect on stand out events over the past academic year.

Ian Lavender, the boarding school's head teacher, delivered his annual report, and as well as thanking the staff and board of governors for their dedication he praised the pupils on their outstanding achievements.

With the opening speeches delivered, the students were called to the stage to receive their prizes.

The presentation began with the external awards, including Grade 8 Modern Ballet for Holly Brown, Grade 8 Piano (with distinction) for Tania Pencu, and Grade 8 Speech and Drama for Ciela Kozlowski.

The lower and middle school academic prizes, awarded for high effort and academic attainment, followed, as well as the lower and middle school open prizes, which cover all areas of the curriculum.

Attention then turned to the sixth form.

Endeavours in sport were recognised with awards going to Rachael Aylmore (all round success in junior sport), Oliver McTurk (Tweedle Cup for Excellence in Games) and Safia Mellen (the Individual All-Round Sports Cup).

Other prizes include athletics, cricket, football, sailing, tennis, cross-country running, basketball, netball, hockey and tennis.

The basketball team was praised for winning the U19 Barrow Basketball League Cup Competition and the U14 football team was also recognised for its achievements. The U16 table tennis team, which won the Cumbria Championship, also received a special mention.

The first of the final three prizes, which were kept a closely-guarded secret, was the Marga Stofberg Prize, presented to someone who demonstrates courage, perseverance and hard work. It went to Corey Douglas, who despite being out of school for lengthy periods through illness, always remained positive, ensuring that his GCSEs took priority.

The Headmaster’s Prize was awarded to Jack Dickson and The Inter-House Endeavour Cup, awarded to the house which fares best in all inter-house events, including sport, debating, and performing arts, was awarded to Strickland.