HERE are the latest results for the Westmorland Cricket League as of August 23.

Shireshead beat Trimpell by ten runs to win the Hackney and Leigh Division 1 Cup for the first time since 2016.

Batting first, Tom Jacques and Joe Cunliffe added 77 for the first wicket, but after Jacques was dismissed, there was a clatter of wickets with Moe Patel taking 3/24 and Peter McDermid 2/19, and it was thanks to Cunliffe who made a mature 74 not out that Shireshead were able to total 137 for six.

Trimpell set off well, Patel making 22 and Mark Baldwin 27, to reach 59/1 from eight overs, but then slipped to 81/5 with Joe Oliver taking three wickets and his father Phil conceding only 7 runs from 3 overs.

Scott Sparks (38) hit three sixes and when 15 runs were scored from the penultimate over, 15 were needed from the last, but Dave Jack held his nerve conceding only four runs.

MATCH: The Trimpell team that played in the club’s first ever top division final

MATCH: The Trimpell team that played in the club’s first ever top division final

Joe Cunliffe was named as man of the match.

It was double disappointment for Trimpell as their second team lost the final of the Moon and Coxhill Division 4 Final to Burneside 2nds by 43 runs.

Burneside scored 122/8 with Barney Coxon making 46, but Trimpell could only score 79 in reply, Phil Hartley taking 3/6 and collecting the man of the match award.

Westgate beat Shireshead in a low scoring Holgate’s Caravans under 16 final.

After only scoring 68, Westgate’s Freddie Whatmuff and Matthew Bradshaw both took 3/6 to restrict Shireshead to 59/9.

In the Meyler Cup Final, Penrith beat Carnforth by 21 runs. Penrith made 143/7 with former Hampshire all-rounder Asher Hart scoring 42.

Alex Benson took 4/27 for Carnforth. Hart was dropped twice and that old adage catches win matches fitted the boill. Sam Hall took four catches to dismiss the first four batsmen, as Carnforth disastrously slipped to 2/2.

Adam Hornby (22) and Ryan Nelson (32) led a recovery, but Hall’s spectacular one-handed catch at point removed Hornby. Brad Hoyle made 21, but Carnforth were always behind the required rate.

James Ellis who had benefited from Hall’s catching returned to clean up the tail finishing with seven wickets and the man of the match award.

LEAGUE: Burneside 2nds who won the Moon & Coxhill Trophy at Warton

LEAGUE: Burneside 2nds who won the Moon & Coxhill Trophy at Warton

On Saturday only two games survived the weather.

Milnthorpe were given a flying start by Chris Baldwin who scored 43 from 45 balls, fortunate that when the second ball he faced hit the off bail that it decided to jump and return to its groove. Bert Parker (33), Sam Woodburn (28) and Mike Wills (37) all batted securely, but with Darren Nelson taking 4/36 Carnforth kept control on the scoring in the second half of the innings, Milnthorpe finishing on 164/7.

Despite a rain interlude reducing the game by 10 overs, Ryan Nelson’s 77 not out from 86 balls marshalled Carnforth to a 7 wicket win with four overs remaining.

In the other game Lewis Plackett (69) and Lee Calverley (70) added 128 for the first wicket for Heysham against Trimpell. With Damien Keegan scoring 30, Heysham finished on 176/3 from 36 overs. Trimpell slipped to 34/3 and although Andy Churnton (60 from 71 balls) counter-attacked, Jamie Cassidy (4/28) was too good for the later order and Trimpell were all out for 112.

Carnforth are 41 points clear of Heysham so five points on Saturday will give them their third successive league title. Tom Ridley took 7/32 as Bare were bowled out for 63. Sedgwick were 27/2 when the rain brought an early end to proceedings.

Lee Barnes took 5/22 for Holme as they dismissed Carnforth 2nds for 77 before the rain arrived.

On Sunday, Morecambe 3rds beat Holme 2nds by 5 wickets. Mark Armistead (6/11) had the spectators searching the record books as the visitors were reduced to 3/6. Kieran Hunter (16) and Mike Halhead (28) brought an event of respectability and 75 all out means that Trimpell 2nds 10 all out in 1980 remains in the record books.

CRICKET: Shireshead who won the Hackney and Leigh Trophy at Cartmel

CRICKET: Shireshead who won the Hackney and Leigh Trophy at Cartmel

Charlie Gaw (22) and James Wright (23 not out) top scored for Silverdale 2nds in their 139 against Bolton le Sands, Sam Gates taking 3/17 and Ben Anderton 4/23. Tight bowling from Silverdale restricted Sands to 123/6 and a draw, Mark Brickles scored 27, Ben Roche 24 not out and Anderton 20. Andrew Boyd took 4/17 as Leven Valley struggled to 81/9.

With Eddie Hart on 37 not out, Arnside 2nds only needed 9 more when the rain came to force a draw.

Ernie Collinson was 96 not out from 100 balls for Shireshead 3rds at Ingleton when the rain arrived. He had added 116 with Paul Coulton (41) to put Shireshead in a strong position at 183/6 from 32 overs, Jack Wheelhouse taking 3/50. Coniston 2nds beat Milnthorpe 2nds by 7 wickets whilst Sedgwick 3rds and Westgate 3rds shared a draw.

Hrishi Desai (28) top scored in Sedgwick’s 158, Sharjito Islam taking 3/14 and Matthew Bradshaw 3/33.

Jim Craig (32) and Sunil Naikwadi (43) put Westgate in a strong position, but Brad Brentnall put the game in the balance at 138/8 before the weather intervened.