KIRKBY Lonsdale won the British Rose Cricket Trophy with a dominant display against Coniston, who were not at full strength due to Covid. Dan Portmann (2/14) and Dan Teasdale (2/16) held the reins as Kirkby restricted Coniston to 96/9. Man of the match Harvey Williams scored 46 as the target was reached inside 11 overs. Sedgwick 2nds are Kendal Sports Trophy champions. They scored 157/8 with Ali Howell (47) Matt Salisbury (38) and Tom Willacy (27 not out) powering the innings. Ambleside replied with 127, Ben McGregor top scoring with 45.

Carnforth could seal the Division 1 Championship next week. Victory away at Westgate means that they have a 44 points lead with four games to go. They struggled to 120/9 with Chris Parry (24), Shane Dixon (26) and Tom Parkinson (29) showing the discipline required to post a target. Dylan Conroy took 4/27. Westgate had no answer to Darren Nelson (3/17). Only Freddie Whatmuff (24) displayed the technique required, but two careless run outs and Alex Benson (3/5) mopped up the tail as Westgate posted 55.

Burneside scored 209/7 at Trimpell with Simon Huck (40), Johan Karunakumaran (35) and Oscar Coxon (33 not out) all contributing. Steve Beniston took 3/29. What followed was the performance of the day as Moe Patel made a brilliant maiden century. In an innings characterised by powerful clean hitting, the right handed hit 104 not out with 9 fours and 7 sixes receiving good support from Scott Sparks (32 not out) as he reached his personal milestone. Trimpell by seven wickets with 14 overs left. Shireshead scored a below-par 130 with Steve Foy (26) top scoring against Sedgwick as Tom Ridley (3/31), Richard Hanson (3/49) and Lee Tattersall did the damage. Dave Jack took 3/34, but 67 from 102 balls from Carl Bevan lead the visitors to a comfortable 6 wicket win.

Consecutive defeats for Shireshead mean Heysham are clear in second place after another brilliant performance from Sam Calverley conducted their 120 run win against Milnthorpe. He scored 66 supported by Graeme Cassidy (36) as Heysham scored 182/7, Mike Wills taking 3/35. Calverley then took 6/32 with his off spin as Milnthorpe folded for 62. Warton removed any lingering doubts about their first division status with a 6 wicket win thanks to former skippers Neil Jones (58) and Tom Barnfield (32 not out) with the bat, and Graeme Crowther (3/26) with the ball as Bare were restricted to 139/9.

Phil Mason (3/30) and Jon Mason (3/32) inflicted early damage on Arnside but Richard Hodgson (37) and James Crawford (43) took them to 180. Silverdale struggled to 118/8, Crawford taking 3/20, but a rain shower meant that the points were shared and it was sufficient for Silverdale to move off the bottom of the table,

In Division 2, Joe Cowperthwaite made a season’s best 50 as Cartmel made 177, Mike Mead taking 4/54 for Shireshead 2nds. Shireshead skipped to victory with aplomb in the 24th over without losing a wicket. Robert Skipworth scoring 102 from 78 balls (10 fours, 6 sixes) and Paul Yates 53 from 66 balls. 15-year-old Joe Bradshaw made a magnificent 132 not out for Westgate 2nds against Carnforth 2nds whilst veteran Dave Hannigan scored 97, heart breakingly missing out on a maiden hundred. Bradshaw took 3/19 and Ryan McMenamin 4/50 as Carnforth were all out for 217, Adam Dixon making 53.