SEDBERGH'S Fraser Sproul was presented with the "Athlete of the Year" award at Kendal Amateur Athletic Club ((KAAC)'s awards evening at the town's Ivy Leaf Club on Friday night.

The award follows his considerable success at regional and national level. His latest success was taking the Northern 5km road title in his age group at Birkenhead at the end of March.

Spring sees the beginning of the track and field and road racing programme. The club is offering junior "come-and-try" sessions at The Queen Katherine School, Kendal, on Tuesdays on April 30, May 7 and May 14, starting 6pm. Just turn up or contact the club's junior co-ordinator on 01539 729319.

The 10km road race series begins with the Kendal 10km on Wednesday May 8. Entry details are available at

The other prizewinners are as follows: Cross Country: U11 girls, Kate Collins; U13 girls, Sara Smith; U11 boys, Alfie Addison; U13 boys, Louis Bigland; U15 boys, Fraser Sproul; U17 boys, Jacob Smith; Senior lady, Jacqueline Nowell; Senior man, Jonny Dry.

Mid Lancs cross country trophy: U13, Sophie Cowin; U15, Henry Hunter; Senior man, Tom Hartley; Senior lady, Lucy Varney. Club championships (cross country, road and fell): Male, Will Sisson; Male vet, Matt Wilson; Female, Lucy Varney; Female vet, Jacqueline Nowell.

Mick McGill Trophy (10km-10m, half marathon), Phil Lee. Diane Priestley Trophy (5km-10km, half marathon), Jacqueline Nowell.

Medal Distance Awards (field and track): U13 girls, Sarah Smith and Clara Samson; U17 girls, Rosie Woodhams; U13 boys, Louis Borland; U15 boys, Fraser Sproul; U17 men, Jacob Smith. Outstanding achievement, Fraser Sproul. Fastest 800m male, Alex Birkett.

Sportshall: U11 girl, Emmy Ranner; U11 boy, Jed Pickering; U13 boy, Oliver Willoughby; U15 boy, Joe Morgan; Sprints U15 boys, James Roberts; Sprints men, James Bowen; Sprints U15 girls, Lisa Bowen; Sprints women, Chelsea Penny; Female throws, Lisa Screen; Female Jumps, Amy Wood; Male throws, Dom Musetti; Male Jumps, Matt Fleming.