THE battle for supremacy across the South Westmorland Senior League entered into the second half of the season with the battle for supremacy hotting up across all five divisions.

Division One Champions Netherfield A are now just two points adrift of league leaders Victoria A after they defeated Netherfield B 8-0 on Monday afternoon.

Netherfield were in dominant form from the start as John Capstick defeated Malcolm Booker 21-13 while Roy Crompton saw off Bill Jermy 21-10.

The A team continued to run riot as Peter Shephard battled past Andy Yare 21-10 before Rod Holmes defeated Harry Sharp 21-12.

In the doubles Mal Barker and Sue Hogarth claimed the best result for the A Team when they defeated Harry Sharp and Bryan Boardley 21-8, while Phil Cheeseman and Keith Hogarth almost claimed a point for the B team but were edged out 21-20 by John Sarsfield and Roger Townsend.

Victoria A remain top of the division after they edged out Warton A 5-3, while Subscription A, Silverdale A and Levens A all picked up respective 6-2 wins over Springfield A, Burneside A and Holme A and Lindale A won 7-1 at Windermere A.

Carnforth A remain on top of Division Two despite losing 5-3 to Lower Holker A while Arnside A, Crosthwaite A and Kirkby Lonsdale A all picked up respective 6-2 wins against Warton B, Heversham A and Allithwaite A.

However in the final game, Bolton Le Sands A defeated Abbot Hall A 7-1.

In Division Three, Carnforth B defeated Lower Holker B 8-0 and Milnthorpe A, Abbot Hall B and Burton Lonsdale all claimed respective 5-3 wins against Bowness A, Levens B, and Hawkshead.

Burneside B saw off Endmoor A 7-1, while Sedbergh B won 6-2 at Lindale.

Springfield B routed Kirkby Lonsdale B 8-0 in Division Four, Holme B defeated Windermere B 6-2 while there were 4-4 draws in the Ingleborough B v Victoria B and Allithwaite B v Crosthwaite B fixtures.

Bolton Le Sands B, Heversham B, Milnthorpe B, Subscription C and Arnside B all picked up crucial wins in Division Five.