A DAY of exciting racing ensued when the Royal Windermere Yacht Club hosted the annual RNLI Open Handicap Regatta on Saturday.

A total of 21 boats from all classes took part and after three thrilling races in challenging conditions on the north lake, Robert Richardson was overall winner of the Peter Glaister Memorial Trophy.

However, there were a number of other fine performances on a day when early rain cleared to leave a day of cloud with sunshine and variable but predominantly westerly wind of varying strengths.

All three races were sailed in similar conditions with the wind gaining strength throughout the afternoon, and all the competitors found conditions around the Belle Grange mark challenging as the mark is close to the leeward shore, and therefore the wind is very light and shifty. Throughout the rest of the course, conditions were good with some strong gusts which kept everyone on their toes!

The Regatta was open to all classes of boats and a real ‘menagerie’ of vessels entered, ranging from a Laser to a 34’ Jeanneau cruiser.

Race 1 was won by Richardson sailing his RS100, while in second and third were Flying Fifteens with Nigel and Gavin Tullett in Niffty just edging out Carbon Footprint, which was sailed by Phil Snewin and Ros Coleman.

Race 2 saw the same three boats in the lead, this time with Carbon Footprint coming first, RS100 second and Niffty third.

Race 3 saw Richardson triumph again, followed in second place by Matt Nield sailing a Phantom, and third came another RS100, this time sailed by Robert’s father John Richardson.

At the end of the regatta, the overall results for the dinghies class was: 1) Robert Richardson (RS100), 2) Matt Nield (Phantom), 3) John Richardson (RS100).

Overall results for keelboats was: 1) Phil Snewin and Ros Coleman (Carbon Footprint), 2) Nigel and Gavin Tullett, (Niffty), 3) Paul Harkness (Moody Cow).

The Flying Fifteens were back out in force on Sunday for their weekly competition when in a strengthening SW breeze and a challenging course, the ‘Hot Chestnut’ Trophy was held.

In the first race, Pitch Perfect (Dave Heron helming, crewed by Chris Ducker) won by a comfortable margin with Carbon Footprint (Phil Snewin and Ros Coleman) second and Funny Enuff (John Atkinson and Elizabeth Moreton) third.

The wind increased as forecast for the second race with some of the fleet returning home early, but the hardier competitors held on and Carbon Footprint won by a small margin, followed in second place by Pitch Perfect’ with Factor Fifteen (Frank Kelly and Michelle Kay) third.