BOTH Carnforth and Westgate won again on Saturday, meaning that they continue to share the top position in Division 1.

Carnforth faced the form team Milnthorpe, whose hopes of the title have receded after they were beaten by 7 wickets.

Opting to bat first, Milnthorpe got stuck against the new ball pairing of Darren Nelson (5/29) and Tom Parkinson (5/30) to the extent that after 19 overs they were 16/1 and once they tried to accelerate they lost wickets, the last four falling for 0 runs in just 8 balls.

Chris Parry (28) and Ryan Nelson (14 not out) added 39 for the first wicket and although Nick Lewthwaite (2/8) claimed a couple of scalps the game was over.

Westgate scored 173/9 declared v Silverdale. As often is the case it was an ensemble piece with Khan Puffet (38), Chris Carter (30), Sam Frith (29) and Andreas Arestidou (25) in the runs after the top order misfired, Jon Mason taking 3/39. Like the runs, Westgate shared the wickets around, Sam Conroy (2/14) and Zak Buchanan (2/25) making the early inroads before Dylan Conroy (3/2) and Andy Hill (3/21) finished off Silverdale for 74, Rob Letcher top scoring with 25.

The most staggering individual performance of the season came at Heysham where Darren Nightingale scored 188 in Burneside’s 345/6 which is the highest ever team score in Division 1.

Nightingale’s innings is the second highest ever recorded in Division 1 of the WCL, falling one short of the record. Nightingale hit 18 fours and 16 sixes, finally falling in the 44th over. Ethan Elwood (44) and Ben Leacock (46 not out) were the support acts.

In Heysham’s reply, Sam Calverley (57) and Andy Powers (75) led the response, but Nightingale hadn’t finished his work, taking 6/45 as Heysham were dismissed for 198. 543 runs were scored in the match, the second highest aggregate ever.

Arnside scored 199/7 at Shireshead with Adam Richardson (43), Richard Hodgson (41), Michael Shepherd (35) and Jason Bingley (29) all contributing. Tom Jacques followed up his 4/55 with 68. As he added 64 for the first wicket with Adam Murphy (23), he would have hoped to be setting the platform for the chase, but David Birch (5/70) and Rob Shepherd (3/32) ran through the middle and later orders, with the last 7 wickets falling for 31 as Shireshead were dismissed for 154.

Trimpell made 146 v Sedgwick, Paul Thompson (47) top scoring with James Lambert (27) and James Ferguson (22) also contributing. Mike Bracken (26) and George Willacy (29) made early runs, but spinners Peter McDermid (3/54) and Rob Cope (5/49) took wickets regularly to leave Sedgwick 124/9. Jonny Matthews (0 not out) held strong while Jason Dalzell (34 not out) with 2 sixes won the thriller with 5 balls to spare. Trimpell have been involved in several close finishes and if they had won just two of them would be out of the relegation dogfight.

Warton [pictured] made 185/6 declared v Holme, Tom Barnfield (49), Ricky Nelson (37) and Graeme Crowther (31 not out) persevering on a slow-paced pitch as Lee Barnes took 4/65. Barnes then batted well to make 59, but only Matty Wright (18) joined him in double figures as Shaun Partridge took 3/29, before Crowther (5/29) cleaned up the tail, Holme all out for 104.

Carnforth 2nds remain top of Division 2 despite losing to Netherfield 3rds on Saturday. Adam Wilson’s 40 was import Netherfield’s 145 before Dan Shorrock (3/17) and Josh Shorrock (4/8) dismissed Carnforth for 95. On Sunday, Carnforth beat Kirkby Lonsdale by 7 wickets.

Bare remain in second place. Archit Bhardwaj made 38 in his side’s 122, but Robbie White (4/45) and Mat Cook (5/16) were in the wickets as Penrith 2nds fell for 95 with Mark Lucas-Winspear making 31. Coniston (164) beat Heysham 2nds (82) while the game at Kirkby Lonsdale was spoilt by the rain after Steve Creed had made 51 not out for Westgate 2nds.

Will Aspinwall’s 4/14 enabled Division 3 leaders, Windermere to bowl out Bolton-le-Sands for 76, Adam Dyson making 27. Sam Fletcher (34) continued his good form, but Dyson (6/25) routed Windermere as the home side were all out for 74.

Leven Valley (203/5) benefitted from the runs of loanees Jack Thwaites (57) and Tom Wilson (46 not out) with Matt Butel making 49. Kieran Saunders (68) and Chris Hogg (53) put Carnforth 3rds in a good position before Wilson (4/25) and George Needham (4/38) combined to bowl them out for 172. Sedgwick 2nds beat Holme 2nds by 8 wickets and Morecambe 3rds beat Silverdale 2nds by 21 runs with a fine all-round performance by Mike Driscoll (37 not out and 4/25) supported by Connor Marsh (4/45). Ingleton’s game against Netherfield 4ths on Sunday was ruined by Sunday’s weather.

Perhaps the most surprising result of the day was at Ambleside where the run away Division 4 leaders were trounced by ten player Bare 2nds. Reduced to 1/2 by Barnaby Wileman (4/22) Bare (223/8) were rescued by a maiden hundred by Liam Burrow, who made a brilliant 138.

Simon Burgess (3/15) and daughter Lauren (3/7) were soon in the wickets and Matt Lee (3/6) retained control as Ambleside were finally all out for 49 in the 34th over. Thomas Duke (72 not out) helped Ingleton 2nds post 160/2 declared. Georgina Brown followed up her 36 with 5/20 as Coniston 2nds batted out for a draw on 73/7.

In the Hackney & Leigh Division 1 t20 final, Mike Shepherd (36) and Adam Richardson (43) added 68 in 8 overs for Arnside. Once they were parted, Arnside struggled to 125/8 with two brilliant catches from Darren Nelson who also took 3/28. After being behind the rate at 48/1 from 10 overs, Chris Parry and Brad Hoyle hit 53 from the next three overs. With 26 needed from 7 overs a thunderstorm arrived and the players will return to Bare on 18 August to try again.

Sedbergh [pictured] won the Moon and Coxhill Division 4 Cup. Man of the match, Martin South made 86 from 61 balls as his side made 185/6, Freddie Price impressing with 2/16 for Kendal 3rds. Olly Dawson made 41, but with Nick Tatham taking 4/20 Kendal were dismissed for 111.