VICTORIA A remained at the top of South Westmorland Senior Bowling League Division One after they won 6-2 at Netherfield B on another exciting round of action across all five divisions.

Bob Newby picked up the first points for Victoria after he defeated Bill Jermy 21-6, while Chris Wyatt edged out Harry Sharp 21-16.

Martin Gilpin claimed the best result for Victoria following his 21-4 win over David Mitchell, while in the doubles Mick Simpson and Alan Medcalf saw off Phil Cheeseman and Ted Leather 21-17.

Netherfield battled thanks to Derek Conchie's 21-17 victory over Terry Mercer before Bryan Boardley and Andy Yare saw off Geoff Thompson and Keith Atkinson 21-17 in the doubles.

In the other games, Netherfield A won 5-3 at Springfield A, Holme A edged out Warton A 5-3, Silverdale A defeated Windermere A 8-0, while both Levens A and Lindale A picked up respective 6-2 wins at Subscription A and Burneside A.

Carnforth A hold a slender one point lead at the top of Division Two following a hard-fought 5-3 win at Arnside A, Kirkby Lonsdale A defeated Netherfield C 8-0, while Ingleborough A and Bolton-le-Sands A both picked up respective 6-2 wins over Allithwaite A and Lower Holker A.

Heversham A edged out Abbot Hall A 5-3, while Crosthwaite A won by the same score with victory at Warton B.

In Division Three Burneside B, Sedbergh B, Lower Holker B and Carnforth B were all 6-2 winners after they claimed respective wins over Lindale B, Endmoor A, Levens B and Bowness A. Milnthorpe A won 5-3 at Hawkshead.

Kirkby Lonsdale B, Crosthwaite B, Subscription B and Springfield B all picked up respective 6-2 wins in Division Four against Windermere B, Holme B, Victoria B and Ingleborough B.

In Division Five, Milnthorpe B, Bolton-le-Sands B and Arnside B all claimed important wins to round off a crucial week in the league.