IT was a close run thing, but Carnforth took another decisive step towards retaining the Division One title with victory over Sedgwick on Saturday.

The leaders had been comfortably positioned at 91/2 with Bradley Hoyle on 49, but then Richard Hanson (pictured left) produced a devastating spell.

He had already captured the first two wickets but then caught and bowled Hoyle and proceeded to take 5 wickets in 22 balls without conceding a run as Carnforth collapsed to 99/7.

Adam Hornby watched from the other end in disbelief and dug in for an uncharacteristic 22 from 70 balls, but then Hanson bowled him and had Ryan Kitchen caught behind.

The Sedgwick medium pacer's bid to take all 10 wickets was foiled when Chris Evans bowled Alex Benson, but Hanson's devastating spell of 9/47 had seen his side dismiss the front runners for 117.

But Tom Parkinson (6/34) and Jack Thompson (3/33) made early inroads reducing Sedgwick to 32/5, and though Carl Bevan's 24 and Lee Tattersall's 28 took them close, Parkinson bowled Will Richards, his 54th wicket of the season, to complete a narrow win that takes Carnforth 14 points clear.

Westgate posted 177/6 (Gary Tattersall 52, Andy Hill 45 not out and Dylan Conroy 42) and although Hill declared in the hope of keeping the game alive a combination of the weather and stubborn defending from Warton meant both sides collected 6 points.

Darren Nightingale (82) made his fourth fifty of the season and Ethan Elwood (84) his first as Burneside made 224/5 v Holme, with the promising Kieran Hunter taking 3/43. Holme were 10/0 when the rain won.

The weather also triumphed at Milnthorpe where Simon Gould (47), Joe Oliver (41) and David Jack (35) had enabled visitors Shireshead to score 163/9. Milnthorpe were 16/1 when it rained.

Matty James (5/21) and Jon Mason (3/21) skittled local rivals, Arnside for 53 and Silverdale were hopeful of a vital win to ease their relegation fears but the weather curtailed the action with the game in the balance at 37/5.

However, the six points could still be crucial as Heysham beat Trimpell, denying their neighbours a single point.

Heysham made 137 with brothers Stuart (53) and Andy Powers (62) the only major contributors, James Ferguson taking 4/21, then Trimpell were blown away for just 55, Sam Calverley taking 6/21 and Sam McClements 4/24.

Carnforth 2nd XI (pictured right with the trophy) became the first second team to win Division 2 since Burneside in 1983.

They made 213/7 before bowling Heysham 2nds out for 140. Ruben Bragg scored 87 and Sam Tomlinson hit his third fifty of the season.

Netherfield 3rds beat Penrith 2nds by 6 wickets with Josh Irving taking 4/11,while a winning draw against Cartmel pushed Shireshead 2nds into second place.

Paul Yates (23) Ste Yates (34) and Adam Coates (28) enabled the home side to recover from 41/5 to total 140, Joe Atkinson taking 5/39.

Cartmel were 30/6 but Jono Cooper (31), Atkinson (33) and Chris Tuson (12 not out from 77 balls) held out for the draw, with three wickets apiece for Paul Yates and Luke Bray.

Ryan McMenamin and James Main frustrated the Kirkby Lonsdale bowlers with an 18-over partnership in which they scored 19 runs as Westgate 2nds closed on 96/8 in pursuit of 156/6, Steve Williams making 58 not out.

Windermere secured promotion to Division 2 when their game against Leven Valley was rained off and Ingleton look set to join them after a 10 wicket win against Bolton-le-Sands for whom John Carter made 37 out of 62. Graham Kellett was also in the runs with 48 not out.

Paul Moffat took 5/17 as Arnside 2nds were bowled out for 81, but Silverdale 2nds were happy when it rained as they were 37/8, Lee Pidgeon (4/10).

Ambleside clinched the Division 4 when they beat Burneside 2nds by 7 wickets, while Sam Alty scored an unbeaten 105 not out for Coniston 2nds as they beat Bare 2nds by 9 wickets.

Adam Smith’s 93 not out helped Milnthorpe 2nds secure the runners-up spot and he followed his batting heroics with 4/27 as Ingleton 2nds were beaten by 19 runs, while Shireshead 3rds beat Trimpell 2nds by 3 wickets despite Trimpell captain Sam Freear being the day's top scorer with 49.