Uncapped duo Ben Doak and Ross McCrorie have been been named in Scotland’s provisional 28-man squad for Euro 2024.

Veteran winger James Forrest has earned a recall almost three years on from his last cap following a strong finish to the domestic season.

Rangers midfielder Ryan Jack has been enlisted despite being sidelined by injury since early March, while Norwich centre-back Grant Hanley, who has played only eight minutes since March 6, has also been given a chance to prove his fitness within the national team set-up over the coming weeks.

Four goalkeepers have been selected – Norwich’s Angus Gunn, Motherwell’s Liam Kelly plus Hearts pair Craig Gordon and Zander Clark.

Wednesday’s squad announcement provides confirmation that Premier League right-backs Aaron Hickey and Nathan Patterson will miss the tournament through injury along with Bologna midfielder Lewis Ferguson.

Scotland play two friendlies against Gibraltar on June 3 and Finland four days later, with Clarke set to cull two members of the current group by June 8 – the weekend before the Scots kick off the tournament against host nation Germany in Munich.