THE Liberal Democrats were hammered in the European elections last night but support for the party locally remained firm.

Lib Dem Chris Davies lost his seat in the North West - 15 years after he won it - and nationwide the party was facing the prospect of having just one MEP.

They won eleven seats in 2009.

64 of the UK's 73 MEPs were announced last night. Scotland and Northern Ireland are still waiting to declare.

Nationally Nigel Farage's UKIP took 27.5 per cent of the vote meaning 23 MEPs, up ten from 2009.

Both Labour and the Tories took 18 seats each - although the swing was plus seven for Labour and minus seven for the Cons.

The Greens came fourth with 7.87 per cent of the vote, ahead of the Liberal Democrats with 6.87 per cent.

Speaking on national television as they votes were being revealed, South Lakes MP Tim Farron and Lib Dem party president said: "It's looking as bad as I feared."

However in South Lakeland voters showed they still remain faithful to Mr Farron and his party.

Total votes in South Lakeland stood at 35,710. 

The Liberal Democrats ran out winners with 11,401 votes. 

Meanwhile the Conservatives received 9,507 and the UK Independence Party (UKIP) 7,203.

Other notable results include Labour, 3,243 votes, and the Green Party, 3,151 votes.

In the North West, Nick Griffin, leader of the British National Party also lost his seat.

The eight North West MEPs will sit in the European Parliament for the next five years.

Three were elected each for Labour and UKIP and two for the Conservatives.

The new MEPs are Theresa Griffin, Afzal Khan and Julie Ward (Labour), Louise Bours, Paul Nuttall and Steven Woolfe (UKIP) and Jacqueline Foster and Sajjad Karim (Conservatives).

Labour topped the NW polls with 594,063 votes and UKIP followed with 481,932.



South Lakeland results

Total votes in South Lakeland stood at 35,710. There were 158 rejected ballot papers.

Turnout was 44.75 per cent and the results are as follows:

Liberal Democrats: 11401

Conservative Party: 9507

UK Independence Party (UKIP): 7203

Labour Party: 3243

Green Party: 3151

An Independence from Europe:  371

British National Party: 324

English Democrats: 270

Pirate Party UK: 124

NO2EU: 67

Socialist Equality Party: 49