Westmorland Gazette WG logo JOIN THE DEBATE BY ADDING YOUR COMMENTS ON THESE STORIES

Registration to post comments only takes a few seconds. Click here to go to the registration page.

Look directly overhead at midnight and you'll see the bright icy blue-white Vega

7:30pm Tuesday 22nd July 2014

The 2014 NLC season is just about over, and hopefully some of you saw those mysterious and beautiful electric blue clouds shining in the north at least once during the past couple of months.

It was probably the best NLC display I've ever seen

6:40pm Wednesday 16th July 2014

SINCE the last issue of The Westmorland Gazette hit the streets two displays of ‘noctilucent clouds’ have lit up the skies above Kendal and the South Lakes.

The Sun's previously blank golden face is now spattered with sunspots

8:00am Thursday 10th July 2014

After dozing for what seems like an eternity, the Sun is finally waking up.

Over the coming weekend we can enjoy the always entrancing sight of a slowly fattening Moon.

6:30pm Thursday 3rd July 2014

To be perfectly honest, at the moment there's not a lot to see ‘up there’ after sunset.

One of the most interesting stars visible at the moment is the red giant Antares

10:40am Monday 16th June 2014

The splendid evening Parade of Planets we have all been enjoying over the past month or so is now coming to an end.

Astronomers can't enjoy dark night skies this time of year because it never really gets dark

12:10pm Thursday 12th June 2014

The 2014 Noctilucent Cloud season is now well underway.

I spy the International Space Station

8:00am Tuesday 3rd June 2014

The good news is the International Space Station (ISS) is on our sky again.

Noctilucent clouds are beautiful, ghostly, electric-blue wispy clouds high up in the atmosphere

12:10pm Monday 26th May 2014

Well, there was no meteor shower last Saturday morning.

There is a chance of spotting shooting stars this weekend

7:20pm Thursday 22nd May 2014

Now, I don't want to get anyone's hopes up too much.

Look for a very slender crescent Moon just above the western horizon

9:20am Thursday 1st May 2014

The Lyrid meteor shower didn't put on much of a show, and the space station has now fled the evening sky until June, so what is there to look at?

The night sky now belongs to Mars

7:20pm Thursday 24th April 2014

Jupiter is now dropping into the evening twilight after dominating the night sky for months.

To see the Lyrids you'll need to be out after midnight, looking east

6:20pm Thursday 17th April 2014

Through the coming week look out for more shooting stars zipping about up there than usual.

Mars is looking its brightest and most striking for years

10:00am Friday 11th April 2014

On the next clear evening, look to the east as soon as it starts to get dark and you'll notice a bright orangey-red star just above the horizon.

When the sky is dark enough to see stars, you'll notice the crescent Moon is shining between two groups of stars

6:20pm Thursday 3rd April 2014

If the sky's clear after sunset tonight (Thursday) you'll see a lovely crescent Moon hanging above the western horizon.

Fireballs are so bright they outshine all the stars in the sky as they skip across it

7:40pm Thursday 27th March 2014

The sky is still full of planets as we approach the spring equinox.

Eyes to the skies for a ‘planetary parade’

6:20pm Thursday 20th March 2014

Cross your fingers for a clear sky in the wee small hours of Saturday (March 22).

Through binoculars the Moon's largest craters look stunning

7:40am Friday 14th March 2014

It looks like we finally have some clear and frosty nights coming up, so get out there and look at the night sky.

Keep an eye on the northern sky

6:10pm Thursday 6th March 2014

I hope you saw the big display of the northern lights last Thursday night.

How young a Moon can you see?

7:00pm Thursday 27th February 2014

I have got an observing challenge for you all this week.

It's space station spotting time!

The Westmorland Gazette: It's space station spotting time!

7:50pm Friday 14th February 2014

IT’S SPACE station spotting time again! The last time we were hunting for the ISS it was in the morning sky, and was drifting through the heavens at ‘you're having laugh o'clock,’ but this week it will be visible in the evening sky at much more sociable times.

Look for the roaring lion in the night sky

The Westmorland Gazette: Look for the roaring lion in the night sky

7:30pm Saturday 8th February 2014

As the 6 Nations Rugby Tournament gets into full swing, what could be more patriotic than tracking down a magnificent, roaring lion in the night sky?

Look to the west and wait and you'll see a bright ‘star’ rising up from the horizon

7:30am Thursday 23rd January 2014

If you're an early riser or insomniac you have a last few chances to see the International Space Station (ISS) crossing the pre-dawn sky this week.

This is my favourite time of year for looking at the most famous pattern of stars in the whole sky - The Big Dipper

9:13am Monday 13th January 2014

IF YOU'RE one of the 300 or so people who came to our recent Moonwatch at the Brewery, for Stargazing Live, thank you.

Saturday's Moonwatch night at Kendal’s Brewery Arts Centre

7:10pm Thursday 9th January 2014

THE awful weather stopped us from seeing many shooting stars last weekend.

Earthshine is visible to the naked eye

6:20pm Tuesday 31st December 2013

I wonder what 2014 will bring for skywatchers?

Look to the south east after dark and see Orion tall and proud above the horizon

9:10am Saturday 28th December 2013

I am sure many of you were given shiny new phones or tablets for Christmas.

After sunset you won't be able to miss Venus blazing like a lantern

10:00am Friday 20th December 2013

Although we have no ‘Christmas Comet’ to look forward to, there's still plenty to enjoy in the festive sky.

This is the brightest Venus has been for a long time

7:30pm Thursday 12th December 2013

IF THE sky is clear after sunset on any evening this coming week you absolutely must make an effort to see Venus.

Comet Ison has more or less disintegrated - but Lovejoy is getting brighter

9:11am Monday 2nd December 2013

Bad news, everyone, Comet Ison will not be putting on a beautiful display in the sky as we had all hoped.

Look for a short vapour trail pointing straight up from the horizon with a star-like head

4:40pm Friday 29th November 2013

As I write this things aren't looking good for Comet Ison.

Look east at around six in the morning and you'll see planet Mercury

6:10pm Friday 22nd November 2013

Since the last Skywatch Comet Ison has brightened considerably and has become a lot more active

Venus shines brightly

9:10am Friday 8th November 2013

Venus is on view again, and will be dominating the dusk sky until the New Year.

To see Comet Encke you'll need to be up early

8:00am Friday 1st November 2013

TYPICAL. You wait years for a comet to appear in the northern sky, then three come along at once.

Return of the International Space Station

7:40am Tuesday 15th October 2013

AFTER an absence of a couple of months, the International Space Station (ISS) is visible in our evening sky again.

Join in latest Moonwatch at the Brewery Arts Centre

8:00am Thursday 10th October 2013

When would you think is the best time to look at the Moon through a telescope or binoculars?

Look south west after sunset

5:10pm Thursday 3rd October 2013

Although there are a few things to see in the evening sky this week, to be honest all the action is taking place in the east before dawn.

Just after sunset Venus and Saturn are visible low in the south west

6:40pm Tuesday 24th September 2013

TWO pairs of planets are visible in the sky this coming week, but both require some hard work on your part if you want to see them.

The Moon is a fascinating world in its own right

5:40pm Tuesday 20th August 2013

We take the Moon for granted, don't we?

Spot the Milky Way

6:10pm Monday 12th August 2013

IF THE sky is clear after dark on August 16 or 17, get out into the countryside, find somewhere dark, and look straight up.

Wish upon a shooting star

7:40am Monday 5th August 2013

Everyone loves spotting a shooting star, and many people make a wish if they see one dashing across the sky.

A lovely celestial gathering is due before dawn on August 4

7:20am Thursday 1st August 2013

THE 2013 Noctilucent Cloud Season is just about over now.

Saturn isn't the only planet on view - look to the west after sunset

6:10pm Tuesday 23rd July 2013

If you were one of the 100-plus people who hiked up to the castle last Friday night to ‘Wave At Saturn’ with us, I hope you enjoyed the evening.

Eddington Astronomical Society host special night at Kendal Castle

7:10am Thursday 18th July 2013

KENDAL is definitely the astronomical capital of the county this week.

Keep an eye on the northern sky around midnight on clear nights

5:10pm Thursday 11th July 2013

WE MIGHT be past the official peak of the 2013 Noctilucent Cloud season, but that doesn't mean it's not worth looking anymore.

Catch a glimpse of red supergiant star Antares

5:20pm Tuesday 25th June 2013

LOOK south at around 11pm on the next clear night for a bright red star very low in the sky.

This month's Full Moon occurs when its at its closest point in its orbit to the Earth

5:30pm Thursday 20th June 2013

THERE is a lot of fuss being made on the internet about the ‘Supermoon,’ which will rise on the evening of June.

Early June displays this bright suggest a remarkable summer lies ahead

8:40am Friday 14th June 2013

THIS year's noctilucent cloud season is already shaping up to be something very special.

It was the best display I've seen for more than two years

8:10am Tuesday 4th June 2013

THE 2013 Noctilucent Cloud season has begun.

Venus remains on the celestial dancefloor

1:00pm Monday 27th May 2013

I HOPE you managed to watch ‘The Dance of The Planets’ last weekend, when Venus, Jupiter and Mercury all came together in the north western sky after sunset.

Mercury, Venus and Jupiter together in the twilight

8:00am Wednesday 22nd May 2013

OVER the next week or so we'll be able to see a real treat unfolding in the north west after sunset.



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree