Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

Inspiring story of grit and heroic determination

The Westmorland Gazette: (10637998)

1:53pm Sunday 28th September 2014

HELMAND TO THE HIMALAYAS by David Wiseman, £8.99

Fascinating history of Leighton Moss revealed in new book

The Westmorland Gazette: (10638037)

11:49am Saturday 27th September 2014

LEIGHTON MOSS: ICE AGE TO THE PRESENT DAY by Andy Denwood, £7.99

Traffic plans are welcome but they are not a panacea

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Thursday 25th September 2014

PLANS to spend millions on improvements to highways, public transport and cycling routes in South Lakeland are to be welcomed — and may even go some way towards assuaging motorists’ recent anger over the introduction of on-street parking charges.

LETTER: Lancaster Bombers evoke pride

The Westmorland Gazette: The Lancaster bombers flying over Windermere.

8:10am Thursday 25th September 2014

The flypast began at 10.15am, when the world’s only pair of Lancaster bombers swept over Windermere heading north to be followed by the Red Arrows at 11.30am in diamond formation.

Trip planned to World War One battlefields

The Westmorland Gazette: Libray photo dated 25/9/16 showing British Troops going over the top to support an attack by XIV Corps on Morval during the Battle of the Somme in the 1914-1918 First World War.

6:20pm Wednesday 24th September 2014

Between Saturday November 8 and Thursday November 13, I will be leading a group from the north of England to the Cenotaph Ceremony in Whitehall on Remembrance Sunday.

PODIUM: 'Twinning' helps to break down barriers

8:07am Wednesday 24th September 2014

Sedbergh’s Dave Collier, Communications Officer of the North West Twinning Federation, believes there are many benefits to forging international links

LETTER: Respect due to brave men of the RNLI

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:40pm Tuesday 23rd September 2014

Respect due to brave men Although I have lived in Kendal since 1976 I was born, in 1936, and bred in Blackpool.

LETTER: Fighting was global

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

I was very interested on a visit to the local collection at Kendal library in the display of art work by James Cookson.

BOOK REVIEW: Montgomery The Church Mouse

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

MONTGOMERY THE CHURCH MOUSE by Jane Byle, £12.99 hardback

LETTER: A flourishing town is vital

The Westmorland Gazette: web - kendal mayor tom clare.jpg

11:59am Sunday 21st September 2014

May I congratulate those who organised the recreation of the Hardman picture of sheep being driven down Allhallows Lane at Kendal in 1953.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Taking time simply to 'be'

The Westmorland Gazette: Ullswater in the Lake District

8:00am Sunday 21st September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to be able to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

OPINION: "The county show traffic needs to be dealt with...but not until '90s classics hour' is over."

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

THE annual County Show - arguably the highlight of the agricultural calendar - is over for another year.

BOOK REVIEW: A Grass Rope to Catch a Unicorn

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

A GRASS ROPE TO CATCH A UNICORN by Janet Rawlins, £20 in hardback

COMMENT: Lakes set to benefit even further from its great cultural assets

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Friday 19th September 2014

When listing reasons why tourists might want to visit the Lake District, several obvious answers spring readily to mind.

Elusive little Mercury is visible after sunset again

8:10am Thursday 18th September 2014

I hope some of you managed to catch a glimpse of the northern lights.

BOOK REVIEW: Remember: I'm not a celebrity so you won't read this by D R Hall

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 14th September 2014

REMEMBER: I’M NOT A CELEBRITY SO YOU WON’T READ THIS by D R Hall, £8.95

The Biscuit Girls by Hunter Davies

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Saturday 13th September 2014

THE BISCUIT GIRLS by Hunter Davies, £6.99

'Can-do' attitude of Cumbrians helps to redress the balance

The Westmorland Gazette: This stunning image of Ashness Bridge by Nina Claridge shows the splendour of the Lake District landscape - but should the area be awarded World Heritage Status?

2:00pm Friday 12th September 2014

Living in sparsely-populated Cumbria comes with many benefits. We are surrounded by lakes and fells and do not have to suffer the traffic congestion and ‘business’ of big city life.

As darkness falls this week look for a small ‘W’ of stars

7:10am Thursday 11th September 2014

Thanks to everyone who came along to our Stargazing Kendal events.

BOOK REVIEW: The Murder of Patience Brooke by JC Briggs

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 7th September 2014

THE MURDER OF PATIENCE BROOKE by JC Briggs, £8.99 ISBN 978-0-750954433

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Our world today is a busy place

The Westmorland Gazette: The Market Cross and St Mary’s Church

10:00am Sunday 7th September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to beable to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District by Arthur Mee

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE LAKE DISTRICT by Arthur Mee, £9.99 ISBN 978-1-445642796

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara, £55

BOOK REVIEW: Postcard Messages From The Great War By Andrew Brooks

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

POSTCARD MESSAGES FROM THE GREAT WAR by Andrew Brooks

Implications of Scottish vote might take time to emerge

The Westmorland Gazette: Which way will Scotland vote?

3:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

PENRITH and the Border MP Rory Stewart has warned we would need to create a patrolled frontier in the event of a ‘yes’ vote for Scottish independence.

Major changes to Vehicle Road Tax

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

10:40am Thursday 4th September 2014

FROM 1 October 2014, there are 3 changes to be aware of:

Each new stretch of restored canal boosts public interest in the waterway

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

WHEN construction of the M6 was in its final planning stage, a delegation from Westmorland reputedly travelled to London to ask the then Conservative Transport Minister Ernest Marples not to let the motorway cut off the upper reach of the Lancaster Canal.

All praise to the NHS

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I recently had an arthroscopy at Westmorland General Hospital’s Day Surgery Unit at Kendal.

LETTER: Praise for all at Westmorland General Hospital

The Westmorland Gazette: Westmorland General Hospital

11:00am Sunday 24th August 2014

Praise for all at hospital I recently returned home after a two-week stay in Westmorland General Hospital at Kendal, having contracted pneumonia.

48 Going on 50 - 1984 as it was for me by Audrey Wilson

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

48 GOING ON 50 - 1984 AS IT WAS FOR ME by Audrey Wilson, £20

LETTER: School days recalled

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

I read the ‘Picture from the Past’ (Nostalgia, July 31) which showed girls sitting in the grounds of a country estate.

LETTER: Give me some sanctuary

The Westmorland Gazette: Telephone  (6860549)

12:00pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Sanctuary has become an obscurity within our homes in these days of perpetual intrusion into our lives. Every medium imaginable has been exploited to ensure peace and quiet eludes us every hour of the day.

Recording events helps to keep Orwellian vision at bay

The Westmorland Gazette: George Orwell

5:00pm Thursday 21st August 2014

THIRTY years ago, Audrey Wilson began a handwritten account of 1984 chronicling her day-to-day family life, plus national and international events.

LETTER: Memories of the hospital

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

Around the 1940s as a young girl I would go to Kendal Green Hospital and the workhouse. My dad was a porter there, booking people in for the night, and my mother worked in the hospital part-time.

BOOK REVIEW: The Alone Alternative by Linda MacDonald

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

THE ALONE ALTERNATIVE by Linda MacDonald, £8.99 ISBN 978-1783064335

PODIUM: Five ways to help promote happiness and well-being

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

We should all think about our own wellbeing. New Chief Officer of South Lakeland Mind Dr Jonathan Ingram talks about that most elusive of traits, happiness, and about the charity’s work

BOOK REVIEW: Mr Nobody by Natalie Gordon

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 16th August 2014

MR NOBODY by Natalie Gordon, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-500464882

LETTER: Casualties of the Great War

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Saturday 16th August 2014

There seems to be some confusion about the numbers of men recorded on Kendal town war memorial.

Something very rare is happening in the sky before dawn

8:10am Friday 15th August 2014

Cross your fingers really hard for clear skies next Sunday, Monday and Tuesday mornings.

Litter is unsightly and could be harming the local economy

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Thoughtlessness and selfishness remain scourges of our modern society.

BOOK REVIEW: Hunting Scraps is an award-winning combination of art and social history

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:10am Thursday 14th August 2014

Charles James Cropper was a natural draughtsman who had a voracious love of drawing.

How to Rent – a Checklist

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

6:03pm Monday 11th August 2014

For people who cannot afford to buy their own home, and don’t qualify for social housing, the only option is to rent in the private sector.

BOOK REVIEW: A Boy From Glasgow Street

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

A BOY FROM GLASGOW STREET by Norman Pascoe, £9.95

PODIUM: Children's needs are at the heart of every decision we make

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

Coun Anne Burns, Cumbria County Council Cabinet Member for Children’s Services, pays tribute to the county’s social workers, foster carers and adopters

The mid-August Perseid shower is one of the best

4:10pm Friday 8th August 2014

There are around a dozen meteor showers every year.

Sheep farming remains as important as it ever was

The Westmorland Gazette:

5:00pm Thursday 7th August 2014

PLANS to recreate a legendary sheep herding photograph taken in Kendal in 1953 are bold, ambitious and fraught with potential logistical problems.

Wordsworth's Lake District by Howard Beck

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Sunday 3rd August 2014

WORDSWORTH’S LAKE DISTRICT by Howard Beck, £34.84

"People keep getting up...they're going to tip the plane!"

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Saturday 2nd August 2014

I’M back in work after a lovely two weeks off - cue a very bad mood.

Northern Canals by Ray Shill

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Saturday 2nd August 2014

NORTHERN CANALS by Ray Shill, £14.99 ISBN 978-1-445633190

LETTER: Canal teems with life

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Friday 1st August 2014

The Lancaster Canal Trust operates the trip boat 'Waterwitch' every Sunday and bank holidays, May to October, from Crooklands landing stage. Volunteers skipper the boat, welcome prospective passengers at the old stables and promote the canal.



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree