Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

Free Wi-Fi scheme likely to boost the local economy

The Westmorland Gazette: WELL CONNECTED: At what age should a child be allowed a mobile phone or tablet?

4:00pm Thursday 24th July 2014

The world continues to change at an ever-increasing pace, with more and more of our everyday lives reliant on the internet and social media.

Look directly overhead at midnight and you'll see the bright icy blue-white Vega

7:30pm Tuesday 22nd July 2014

The 2014 NLC season is just about over, and hopefully some of you saw those mysterious and beautiful electric blue clouds shining in the north at least once during the past couple of months.

PODIUM: Reshaping neighbourhoods will bring health rewards

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

Prof John Ashton, formerly Cumbria’s Director of Public Health and now president of the UK Faculty of Public Health, argues towns must be made more ‘old age friendly’

BOOK REVIEW: Lancashire Folk Tales

1:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

LANCASHIRE FOLK TALES by David England and Jennie Bailey, £9.99 ISBN 978-0-742489933

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Is the Church distinct enough?

The Westmorland Gazette:

5:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

IS THE Church distinct enough? There's a lot of talk about trying to be relevant, trying to fit in and accommodate the communities that we find ourselves in. But in trying to fit in, are we losing our USP?

LETTER: Dangerous litter

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I took this photograph of helium balloons that I collected from a barbed wire fence on top of the fells dividing Longsleddale and Bannisdale, close to Capplebarrow.

Sign up to the organ donor register and give someone the gift of life

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

Many people feel uneasy talking about - and planning for - death, although health workers are increasingly concentrating on providing patient-centred care to help terminally ill people and their families make choices to meet their individual needs and wishes.

It was probably the best NLC display I've ever seen

6:40pm Wednesday 16th July 2014

SINCE the last issue of The Westmorland Gazette hit the streets two displays of ‘noctilucent clouds’ have lit up the skies above Kendal and the South Lakes.

PODIUM: Take photographs of your horse from every angle to beat thieves

The Westmorland Gazette: Llanthony - Great Outdoors. A horse grazing the fields in Llanthony. (7721910)

12:00pm Sunday 13th July 2014

Nigel Sutcliffe, Horse Watch co-ordinator for Cumbria, says the community can play a vital role in reducing crime in rural areas.

LETTER: Don't let it end like this

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:16pm Thursday 10th July 2014

I think that the adoption of the riverside path from Miller Bridge as a cycle route is a good thing if cyclists are sensible and considerate to walkers.

COMMENT: Treasury cash welcome - but le Tour shows another way

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:23pm Thursday 10th July 2014

THE Government’s announcement that £27m is to be invested in Cumbrian infrastructure, skills and job creation over the next few years is to be welcomed.

The Sun's previously blank golden face is now spattered with sunspots

8:00am Thursday 10th July 2014

After dozing for what seems like an eternity, the Sun is finally waking up.

Over the coming weekend we can enjoy the always entrancing sight of a slowly fattening Moon.

6:30pm Thursday 3rd July 2014

To be perfectly honest, at the moment there's not a lot to see ‘up there’ after sunset.

Is it 'art'...or it is just plain rubbish?

6:00pm Saturday 28th June 2014

CALL me a philistine - and I know I’m about to divide the room - but my opinion on art is this: if I could have done it myself, it doesn’t count.

Brace yourself for turbulence

The Westmorland Gazette: AN AEROPLANE FLYING ACROSS LONDON.

5:00pm Thursday 26th June 2014

SO, we’re in Economy Class, boarding an air-conditioned plane to Majorca.

PODIUM: Sports must strive to attract more young people to play

7:00am Wednesday 25th June 2014

Cliff Heath, the new chairman of Windermere Golf Club explains his drive to encourage young players and says why he believes that juniors are the future of the sport.

There is no English word for Siesta...

The Westmorland Gazette: Glorious setting: Majorca boasts some beautiful beaches and bays

8:00pm Tuesday 24th June 2014

IT’S just after lunch here on the hottest lump of rock in the Balearics and my resting heart-rate has slowed to that of a docile crocodile.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District - A Dog Walker's Guide by Peter Naldrett, £7.95 ISBN 978-1-846743214

The Westmorland Gazette: PET PROJECT: Guide to great dog walks in the Lakes

7:30am Sunday 22nd June 2014

THIS pet owners’ guide could prove a useful gift for those people who say that having a dog is the only thing that gets them out and about.

At least I've got a well-stocked condiment cupboard...

6:00pm Saturday 21st June 2014

MY DAD tells me on an almost-daily basis that he’s concerned about my retirement.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: The promise is the same

3:00pm Thursday 19th June 2014

Do you, like me, sometimes look at someone who has a close relationship with God and say, “Oh I wish I had your faith”?

Clear vision of future of Bay hospital services is needed

2:00pm Thursday 19th June 2014

The contents of the draft Care Quality Commission report leaked to The Westmorland Gazette are another blow for the University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Trust.

An exciting time for arts and leisure in the Lake District

The Westmorland Gazette: The Brewery Arts Centre

2:00pm Thursday 19th June 2014

South Lakeland and north Lancashire are already blessed with a cultural landscape few other areas could boast.

One of the most interesting stars visible at the moment is the red giant Antares

10:40am Monday 16th June 2014

The splendid evening Parade of Planets we have all been enjoying over the past month or so is now coming to an end.

BOOK REVIEW: Lake District Icons

2:00pm Sunday 15th June 2014

LAKE DISTRICT ICONS by Michaela Robinson-Tate and Phil Rigby, £12.99 ISBN 978-0-7509-5910-0

BOOK REVIEW: The Yorkshire Shepherdess

The Westmorland Gazette: BOOK REVIEW: The Yorkshire Shepherdess

12:00pm Saturday 14th June 2014

THE YORKSHIRE SHEPHERDESS by Amanda Owen, £16.99

BOOK REVIEW: The Photographer's Guide To The Yorkshire Dales by Ellen Bowness, £12.95 ISBN 978-0992683412

The Westmorland Gazette: ICONIC: Pointer to best places to take landscape photos in the Dales

5:20pm Tuesday 17th June 2014

LAKE District-based publisher Ellen Bowness has turned her attention to the neighbouring Yorkshire Dales for this landscape photography guide.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: It's the simple things that matter

5:00pm Thursday 12th June 2014

I am sitting, looking at what looks like a very complicated jigsaw puzzle!

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT:

3:00pm Thursday 12th June 2014

ISPENT an inspirational hour, in glorious sunshine, on Staveley playing field the other week.

Astronomers can't enjoy dark night skies this time of year because it never really gets dark

12:10pm Thursday 12th June 2014

The 2014 Noctilucent Cloud season is now well underway.

Citizens' Advice: New name, for a new district wide service

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

12:10pm Monday 9th June 2014

For the past 18 months, Cumbria Rural Citizens Advice Bureau has been expanding its service, to meet local demand for free, impartial and confidential advice.

BOOK REVIEW: Special Forces Pilot

The Westmorland Gazette: Special Forces Pilot

10:10am Sunday 8th June 2014

SPECIAL FORCES PILOT by Richard Hutchings, £12.99 ISBN 978-1-473823174

Attack of the wedding guestzillas!

6:00pm Saturday 7th June 2014

THIS weekend my sister got engaged and I had only one piece of advice to impart: RUN LIKE THE WIND!

BOOK REVIEW: The Railways of Carnforth

The Westmorland Gazette: The Railways of Carnforth

2:00pm Saturday 7th June 2014

THE RAILWAYS OF CARNFORTH by Philip Grosse, £25 ISBN 978-0-956970916

Don't get carried away by England and the World Cup

The Westmorland Gazette: OBSESSION: Roy Hodgson claims the country is "obsessed" with Wayne Rooney, pictured during Friday's friendly win over Peru

12:00pm Saturday 7th June 2014

SO, it’s last Friday and Roy’s Boys are taking on the crash test dummies of Peru.

Public will need convincing about need for new council HQ

12:00pm Thursday 5th June 2014

Local authorities have undoubtedly taken a real battering over the past few years.

I spy the International Space Station

8:00am Tuesday 3rd June 2014

The good news is the International Space Station (ISS) is on our sky again.

Sunshine break has been a long time coming

7:00pm Monday 2nd June 2014

SO, it won’t be long now before we’re strolling down the Avenue de la Magnolia in our Raybans and diving head first into pools of Estrella Damm and Gin Fizz.

Fantastic response to campaign shows support for Kendal's hospital

The Westmorland Gazette: 'Hands off our Hospital': Westmorland Gazette launches campaign to keep services in Kendal

1:00pm Thursday 29th May 2014

On April 10 The Westmorland Gazette launched its ‘Hands off our Hospital’ campaign.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: The Bible brings truth and light

1:00pm Thursday 29th May 2014

Who do you trust ? Whose words and promises do you believe? Where do you go to find trustworthy reporting on world events?

Noctilucent clouds are beautiful, ghostly, electric-blue wispy clouds high up in the atmosphere

12:10pm Monday 26th May 2014

Well, there was no meteor shower last Saturday morning.

I might be a 'great mind' after all...

6:00pm Saturday 24th May 2014

LAST week I was taught a new saying: great minds discuss ideas, small minds discuss people.

LETTER: Many legends associated with Blencathra

The Westmorland Gazette: Blencathra

1:00pm Friday 23rd May 2014

The report about the sale of Blencathra (Gazette, May 8, ‘Mountain for sale!’) included a piece titled ‘Hill top chair… or saddle’, which mentioned Blencathra is an ancient Cumbric name meaning ‘Bare hill top chair’.

Debut novel depicts horrors of war

The Westmorland Gazette: The Undertaking by Audrey Magee

11:27am Friday 23rd May 2014

The Undertaking by Audrey Magee (Atlantic Books, £12.99, hardback)

Cumbria set to benefit from influx of international visitors

The Westmorland Gazette: The landscape of the Lake District - a big attraction for tourists

8:00am Friday 23rd May 2014

There was some good news for the county’s tourism industry this week.

There is a chance of spotting shooting stars this weekend

7:20pm Thursday 22nd May 2014

Now, I don't want to get anyone's hopes up too much.

LETTER: How can we keep going?

4:06pm Thursday 22nd May 2014

I write as a member of a small Anglian Church in South Lakeland.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: A wonderful future ahead

2:00pm Thursday 22nd May 2014

News broadcasts on television and radio can be depressing.

LETTER: Find out how we can help people with dementia

2:50pm Monday 19th May 2014

How dementia friendly is our community?

BOOK REVIEW: Cross Fell and Mines of the Cumbrian Fells

The Westmorland Gazette: BOOK REVIEW: Cross Fell and Mines of the Cumbrian Fells

3:00pm Sunday 18th May 2014

CROSS FELL AND MINES OF THE  CUMBRIAN FELLS by Ian Tyler

LETTER: Excellent care in hospitals

2:00pm Sunday 18th May 2014

Following a major operation, I received excellent care on Ward 11 at the Royal Preston Hospital and on Ward 39 at Royal Lancaster Infirmary.



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree