Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

To see the Lyrids you'll need to be out after midnight, looking east

6:20pm Thursday 17th April 2014

Through the coming week look out for more shooting stars zipping about up there than usual.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Remember the suffering - and celebrate the resurrection

5:00pm Thursday 17th April 2014

During lent we have a ‘Lenten cross’ in Sandylands Methodist Church. It begins as an empty cross and then each week an item is added to remind us of the journey Jesus took to the cross.

LETTER: Walter died on The Somme

The Westmorland Gazette: The 8th Border ‘football’ team

2:00pm Thursday 17th April 2014

Following your report about the Kendal First World War centenary play (Gazette, March 20), readers may be interested in documents I have received from Peter Shand, who lives in Canada, and is Sergeant Walter Dixon's great nephew.

COMMENT: ‘Fragile’ areas of Lakes need protection against second homes

The Westmorland Gazette: Coniston, which has a sizeable proportion of second homes and holiday lets

1:00pm Thursday 17th April 2014

THE over-abundance of second homes in the Lake District has been a problem for decades.

LETTER: Gird and cleek

The Westmorland Gazette: Craven primary pupils Anna Maudsley, Katie Gugeon, Charlotte Stewart and Charlotte Wilson rolling Victorian-style wooden hoops

3:00pm Sunday 13th April 2014

I was surprised to see in the photograph of the Craven primary pupils rolling Victorian-style hoops (Gazette, March 27, ‘Hoop-hoop hurrah for Victorian days’), that they are not using the hooked stick that Scottish children used to control the hoops’ progress.

Everything went downhill when Woolworth's closed

The Westmorland Gazette: Half of the former Woolworths store in Ilkley is to be occupied by a national coffee shop chain.

6:00pm Saturday 12th April 2014

DOES anyone know what constitutes a healthy diet?

Ambleside's store wars are unnecessary, but maybe this is the answer...

The Westmorland Gazette: Welcome to Amblecity says the sign outside The Spar

11:00am Saturday 12th April 2014

SO, Ambleside is at war. And it’s impossible to choose a side. For or Against? Progress or preservation?

Mars is looking its brightest and most striking for years

10:00am Friday 11th April 2014

On the next clear evening, look to the east as soon as it starts to get dark and you'll notice a bright orangey-red star just above the horizon.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Jesus was a brave and special man

The Westmorland Gazette: CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Jesus was a brave and special man

2:00pm Thursday 10th April 2014

What sort of a man was Jesus? Gentle, meek and mild?

LETTER: What a waste of money!

The Westmorland Gazette: Coins in a tree stump at Tarn Hows

1:00pm Thursday 10th April 2014

I have just returned from walking round Tarn Hows, where I was appalled to see how many tree stumps have been encrusted with coins.

COMMENT: Kendal needs a strong and vibrant hospital run by the NHS

The Westmorland Gazette: Westmorland General Hospital at Kendal

12:00pm Thursday 10th April 2014

WESTMORLAND General Hospital is an integral part of the Kendal community.

I need to get rid of the spaniel on my head...

6:00pm Saturday 5th April 2014

MEN aren’t very good at paying compliments.

When the sky is dark enough to see stars, you'll notice the crescent Moon is shining between two groups of stars

6:20pm Thursday 3rd April 2014

If the sky's clear after sunset tonight (Thursday) you'll see a lovely crescent Moon hanging above the western horizon.

COMMENT: First World War stories have an important resonance today

12:00pm Thursday 3rd April 2014

The Westmorland Gazette’s appeal for stories about local people involved in or affected by the First World War has attracted an amazing response.

Citizens' Advice: Be wise to Scams

The Westmorland Gazette: Wirral Citizen's Advice Bureau extends its business

4:10pm Wednesday 2nd April 2014

We are hearing of more and more scams in our area, stay safe with our tips.

Fireballs are so bright they outshine all the stars in the sky as they skip across it

7:40pm Thursday 27th March 2014

The sky is still full of planets as we approach the spring equinox.

Effort must be made to less impact of new developments

1:00pm Thursday 27th March 2014

Wherever you look in South Lakeland there seems to be a planning row brewing.

LETTERS: A great day to remember

The Westmorland Gazette: The view from one of the hides at Leighton Moss

12:00pm Thursday 27th March 2014

The ‘Share your memories’ letter about Leighton Moss RSPB reserve (Letters, February 20) has prompted a reply from us.

LETTER: Only four men survived the sinking

The Westmorland Gazette: The Bay Fisher

7:40pm Saturday 22nd March 2014

I am trying to locate relatives of Chief Officer P. McParland, who used to live in Keith Street, Barrow- in-Furness in the 1940s.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Be brave and share your story

The Westmorland Gazette: Burglary suspect's curfew altered for Bible class

8:04am Tuesday 25th March 2014

We all love a good story. I have wonderful memories of the power cuts in the 1970s, and being read to by enforced candlelight.

Eyes to the skies for a ‘planetary parade’

6:20pm Thursday 20th March 2014

Cross your fingers for a clear sky in the wee small hours of Saturday (March 22).

Chains set their sights on Lakes but will character remain?

4:00pm Thursday 20th March 2014

Those with long memories will recall the fuss when McDonald’s proposed opening a restaurant in Kendal.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Phone service has revolutionalised prayer lives

The Westmorland Gazette: Police warning over telephone bank card scam

3:00pm Thursday 20th March 2014

Two and a half years ago I attended a roadshow put on by United Christian Broadcasters about setting up a Prayerline ministry from our Church.

I'm off to join the Morecambe Bay mermaids!

6:00pm Saturday 15th March 2014

THE general public, I’m quickly realising, has the common sense of a teaspoon.

Through binoculars the Moon's largest craters look stunning

7:40am Friday 14th March 2014

It looks like we finally have some clear and frosty nights coming up, so get out there and look at the night sky.

LETTER: Share your Droomer Estate memories

The Westmorland Gazette: The Droomer estate at Windermere

5:00pm Thursday 13th March 2014

When Droomer Estate was established it was an exciting new time for Windermere and the area.

Challenge for planners as supermarkets eye up South Lakes

The Westmorland Gazette: An artists’ impression of the proposed Sainsbury's store at Kendal

4:00pm Thursday 13th March 2014

South Lakeland is becoming a battleground as superstores vie to set up in the area.

Journalists are human too, honest!

The Westmorland Gazette: STUCK: Stephanie experiences the Morecambe Bay quicksands

12:54pm Monday 10th March 2014

“How do you fancy getting stuck in quicksand Stephanie?”

The sound of silence is pure pleasure!

6:00pm Saturday 8th March 2014

THE house is quiet because The Fiance has gone away with work.

Keep an eye on the northern sky

6:10pm Thursday 6th March 2014

I hope you saw the big display of the northern lights last Thursday night.

Supermarket won't be noticed

The Westmorland Gazette: Hayes Garden World at Ambleside

3:00pm Thursday 6th March 2014

There is lots of debate about the proposed Sainsbury's in Ambleside. I totally appreciate the concerns of shopkeepers in the village that they might lose trade.

Help make ESA Fit for Work

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

11:10am Tuesday 4th March 2014

Across the country, Citizens Advice and bureaux are campaigning to ensure sick and disabled people are being treated fairly when claiming Employment and Support Allowance (ESA).

I'm in the doghouse with the cat...and I can't be doing with all this tension!

6:00pm Saturday 1st March 2014

I’M in the doghouse with the cat.

How young a Moon can you see?

7:00pm Thursday 27th February 2014

I have got an observing challenge for you all this week.

LETTER: What did the memorial plaque say?

The Westmorland Gazette: The Sweet Chestnut trees near Hincaster

6:00pm Thursday 27th February 2014

Near the western portal of Hincaster tunnel, where the canal bed turns north towards Sedgwick, there is a line of Sweet Chestnut trees planted to commemorate the men lost in the Great War of 1914 to 1918.

Iconic rail line’s anniversary is a reminder of what has been lost

The Westmorland Gazette: A steam train passes across the Ribblehead Viaduct

2:00pm Thursday 27th February 2014

MICHAEL Portillo failed to convince his Conservative colleagues he could be their party’s leader - but one issue he did show commendable leadership on was the future of the Settle-Carlisle railway.

Need to find the balance between walkers and cyclists

The Westmorland Gazette: 'Cyclists are cooler than the average person', says study

1:00pm Thursday 20th February 2014

CONCERN expressed over plans to widening a woodland footpath near Grasmere raises a controversial question - should cyclists be allowed to share the same space as pedestrians?

Book Review: Why National Parks? Ian O. Brodie

The Westmorland Gazette: Book Review: Why National Parks? Ian O. Brodie

6:00am Wednesday 19th February 2014

WHY NATIONAL PARKS? by Ian O. Brodie, ISBN 978-1-904098522, £14.50

Book Review: Do I have an angel? Amanda Tooke

The Westmorland Gazette: Boor Review: Do I have an angel? Amanda Tooke

6:00pm Tuesday 18th February 2014

DO I HAVE AN ANGEL? by Amanda Tooke, ISBN 978-0-992751418, £9.99

Interiors Column: Looking to the future

The Westmorland Gazette: The Ark - Unique Home Stays

9:00am Sunday 16th February 2014

THE New Year has happily burst into action in the residential market. We are delighted to see so many wonderful projects opening up for 2014. It means, I hope, that we are all, maybe feeling the benefit of a little more positivity towards the future climate.

Romance isn't dead - it's just being drowned out by the Formula One...

The Westmorland Gazette: Front row seat: Sam Bird led from start to finish on Sunday in Singapore and remains a front runner for GP2 drivers’ championship and a possible step into Formula One  	Picture: Andrew Ferraro/GP2 Media Service

6:00pm Saturday 15th February 2014

YOU can be happy as larry and utterly in love and still find your partner annoys the hell out of you.

It's space station spotting time!

The Westmorland Gazette: It's space station spotting time!

7:50pm Friday 14th February 2014

IT’S SPACE station spotting time again! The last time we were hunting for the ISS it was in the morning sky, and was drifting through the heavens at ‘you're having laugh o'clock,’ but this week it will be visible in the evening sky at much more sociable times.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Our attitudes should be fashioned from Christ's

4:00pm Friday 14th February 2014

Christian Viewpoint. What is it?

LETTER: Don't make the Lake District dull

The Westmorland Gazette: This stunning image of Ashness Bridge by Nina Claridge shows the splendour of the Lake District landscape - but should the area be awarded World Heritage Status?

4:10pm Thursday 13th February 2014

World Heritage Status is being welcomed by the Lake District National Park Authority (a non-elected quango) and the Friends of the Lake District (an environ-mental pressure group).

CHRSTIAN VIEWPOINT: Love with a deeper meaning

The Westmorland Gazette: Burglary suspect's curfew altered for Bible class

3:00pm Thursday 13th February 2014

Friday, February 14, is, of course, St Valentine’s day. It is a day when loving relationships are often celebrated – and it is a good thing to celebrate love.

Rates relief for small businesses is a step in the right direction

2:30pm Thursday 13th February 2014

THERE is no question general business confidence in Cumbria is growing.

Look for the roaring lion in the night sky

The Westmorland Gazette: Look for the roaring lion in the night sky

7:30pm Saturday 8th February 2014

As the 6 Nations Rugby Tournament gets into full swing, what could be more patriotic than tracking down a magnificent, roaring lion in the night sky?

Not even the slowest checkout staff want to talk about anything more than the weather...

6:00pm Saturday 8th February 2014

SMALL talk is one of those things that you’re either good at or you’re not.

LETTER: Help is available for former nuclear workers

5:00pm Saturday 8th February 2014

Have you worked in the nuclear industry? Are you experiencing financial difficulty and need help or advice?

BOOK REVIEW: Live a Life of No Regrets

The Westmorland Gazette: Live a Life of No Regrets

6:00pm Friday 7th February 2014

LIVE A LIFE OF NO REGRETS, by Suzie Hayman, 978-1-444187076, £10.99



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links



Local Information

Enter your postcode, town or place name

House prices »   Schools »   Crime »   Hospitals »

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree