Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

Name has not been changed

The Westmorland Gazette: CENTRE OF TOWN: Market Place at Kendal

1:55pm Friday 31st October 2014

It would seem that the large square in the centre of Kendal on the opposite side of Stricklandgate from The Westmorland Gazette offices, the one that has Thornton's on the corner, keeps changing its name.

OPINION: Why we need to do our bit to help struggling South Lakes charity

1:31pm Friday 31st October 2014

LAST week we reported that the South Lakeland branch of Mind is on the brink of closure.

BOOK REVIEW: Harry's lives are well worth exploring

The Westmorland Gazette: The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

5:24pm Thursday 30th October 2014

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North (Orbit, £7.99).

Exploring the quest for one of the world's most dangerous records

The Westmorland Gazette: (11568853)

2:49pm Sunday 26th October 2014

The World Water Speed Record: The Fast and the Forgotten by Roy Calley, £16.99

Modern sayings are not so 'Coolio'

The Westmorland Gazette: (11724343)

3:15pm Saturday 25th October 2014

SO, I've written recently of my inner cringe when people say 'ospickle' instead of hospital and 'chimley' instead of chimney.

A sweeping narrative deals with the psychological and emotional reality of war

The Westmorland Gazette: (11568634)

2:01pm Saturday 25th October 2014

The Repercussions by Catherine Hall, £12.99

I think I'm being targeted by creepy-crawlies...

2:29pm Friday 24th October 2014

MY biggest fear, without a shadow of a doubt, is anything that could be classed as a 'creepy-crawly'.

Well done for making town bloom

The Westmorland Gazette: STUNNING: Bowness promenade in full bloom

1:16pm Friday 24th October 2014

On behalf of the Windermere & Bowness Chamber of Trade, I would like to give a big 'thank you' to all those traders, residents and the Windermere Town Council for a truly memorable display of horticultural splendour.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Jesus brings help and healing and revelation

The Westmorland Gazette: A stained-glass window at All Saints North Street church

6:00pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

I don’t know how often you look at stained glass windows in an old church but I think you will find that the picture in the window usually tells a story.

LETTER: Helping our red squirrels

The Westmorland Gazette: The talk will encourage you to take action to save red squirrels.

3:00pm Thursday 23rd October 2014

I WAS delighted to read your article about the recent red squirrel survey (Gazette, September 4, “Take it as red, the squirrel is thriving”) and the stability of the red squirrel populations in Cumbria, and particularly the Lake District.

Conflict over 10nmph limit makes talking vital

11:52am Sunday 19th October 2014

REPORTS from lake users that Windermere is a scene of conflict during summer will come as a surprise to those who rarely venture onto the water or are content to admire it from the safety of the shoreline.

PODIUM: Collective effort makes a huge difference to the Lakes

5:00pm Sunday 19th October 2014

This summer I’ve been making the most of the light evenings with a swim in Windermere, and I feel so lucky to have the opportunity to experience such beauty and tranquillity right on my doorstep.

How to take inspirational photographs of some of Britain's finest scenery

The Westmorland Gazette: (11036879)

1:41pm Saturday 18th October 2014

PHOTOGRAPHING THE LAKE DISTRICT by Stuart Holmes, £25

The children are going nuts over conkers

11:07am Saturday 18th October 2014

SO, we've collected 120 shiny conkers with the kids.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Calm and caring lifestyles can teach us a great deal

The Westmorland Gazette: Yorkshire Whitby Abbey

2:00pm Friday 17th October 2014

I am very lucky in my job in that I get to see some wonderful sights as I go around the country.

Signs are in the wrong place

The Westmorland Gazette: One of the lights at Endmoor

1:55pm Thursday 16th October 2014

Preston Richard Parish Council fought long and hard for flashing lights and a 20mph speed limit outside St Patrick's Church of England school. They were finally installed two months ago by local authority employees but their location leaves a great deal to be desired.

Low level walks book perfect for those hunting area's hidden gems

The Westmorland Gazette: STEP OUT: New book is perfect walking companion

8:27pm Sunday 12th October 2014

Book signposts the way to Lakeland's hidden gems

Enchanting fireside book by a master story teller

The Westmorland Gazette: TELLING: A fireside book to enthral

5:12pm Sunday 12th October 2014

MIDWINTER FOLK TALES by Taffy Thomas, £9.99

Now is the time to check the detailed plans

11:51am Friday 10th October 2014

THE need for more housing - and specifically for more 'affordable housing' - continues to be a major issue facing South Lakeland.

LETTER: Most people need to use a car

The Westmorland Gazette: Morning rush hour traffic at Windermere Road, Kendal

10:46am Friday 10th October 2014

Reading the proposals of Cumbria County Council to spend £6.8million on roads in Kendal and Ulverston (Gazette, September 25, '£6.8m plan to free up roads') appears at odds with some recent decisions to withdraw subsidies on a number of bus routes then announcing a 50 per cent increase in bus times.

Now is the time to scrutinise the detailed plans

The Westmorland Gazette: Authority to be the host with toast at morning gathering

3:00pm Thursday 9th October 2014

THE need for more housing – and specifically for more ‘affordable housing’ - continues to be a major issue facing South Lakeland.

A dystopian novel with haunting themes from a young Kendal writer

The Westmorland Gazette: (11292302)

12:22pm Thursday 9th October 2014

TREMOR by Ryan Mark, £8.99

'Good neighbours stop rogue traders' campaign

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

10:40am Wednesday 8th October 2014

Doorstep criminals exploit vulnerable people by convincing them to pay for shoddy or incomplete repair work, charging extortionate fees for their services, or use threatening behaviour.

Restaurant etiquette: I might just get a takeaway tonight...

The Westmorland Gazette: elmgrove

6:00pm Saturday 4th October 2014

I WAS taught as a young 'un I shouldn't talk with my mouth full - but I was also told it's rude to ignore someone if I'm being spoken to.

Ospreys are thriving

The Westmorland Gazette: South Lakeland is becoming an osprey hotspot

4:15pm Friday 3rd October 2014

I was interested to read the report article (Farm and Country, August 28, 'Reserve celebrates its osprey success') about the Roudsea ospreys, in which it stated Cumbria is now home to three pairs of nesting ospreys. I assume you are referring to Bassenthwaite, Foulshaw Moss and Roudsea Moss.

This week's cartoon by Shelbourn

The Westmorland Gazette: (10976826)

2:34pm Friday 3rd October 2014

"The council sees Mardale's reappearance as a chance to provide homes for locals."

Arcturus is very easy for even the most novice stargazer to find

The Westmorland Gazette: Follow the arc to Arcturus

10:29am Thursday 2nd October 2014

Now it's getting dark mid-evening again (hooray!) it's a lot easier to go out star spotting. The Big Dipper - the name we give to the seven brightest stars in Ursa Major, the Great Bear - dominates the northern sky, looking like a huge starry ladle hanging above the fells and trees. Anyone who sees the Big Dipper will also notice a bright yellow-white star to its left.

Inspiring story of grit and heroic determination

The Westmorland Gazette: (10637998)

1:53pm Sunday 28th September 2014

HELMAND TO THE HIMALAYAS by David Wiseman, £8.99

Fascinating history of Leighton Moss revealed in new book

The Westmorland Gazette: (10638037)

11:49am Saturday 27th September 2014

LEIGHTON MOSS: ICE AGE TO THE PRESENT DAY by Andy Denwood, £7.99

Traffic plans are welcome but they are not a panacea

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Thursday 25th September 2014

PLANS to spend millions on improvements to highways, public transport and cycling routes in South Lakeland are to be welcomed — and may even go some way towards assuaging motorists’ recent anger over the introduction of on-street parking charges.

LETTER: Lancaster Bombers evoke pride

The Westmorland Gazette: The Lancaster bombers flying over Windermere.

8:10am Thursday 25th September 2014

The flypast began at 10.15am, when the world’s only pair of Lancaster bombers swept over Windermere heading north to be followed by the Red Arrows at 11.30am in diamond formation.

Trip planned to World War One battlefields

The Westmorland Gazette: Libray photo dated 25/9/16 showing British Troops going over the top to support an attack by XIV Corps on Morval during the Battle of the Somme in the 1914-1918 First World War.

6:20pm Wednesday 24th September 2014

Between Saturday November 8 and Thursday November 13, I will be leading a group from the north of England to the Cenotaph Ceremony in Whitehall on Remembrance Sunday.

PODIUM: 'Twinning' helps to break down barriers

8:07am Wednesday 24th September 2014

Sedbergh’s Dave Collier, Communications Officer of the North West Twinning Federation, believes there are many benefits to forging international links

LETTER: Respect due to brave men of the RNLI

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:40pm Tuesday 23rd September 2014

Respect due to brave men Although I have lived in Kendal since 1976 I was born, in 1936, and bred in Blackpool.

LETTER: Fighting was global

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

I was very interested on a visit to the local collection at Kendal library in the display of art work by James Cookson.

BOOK REVIEW: Montgomery The Church Mouse

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

MONTGOMERY THE CHURCH MOUSE by Jane Byle, £12.99 hardback

LETTER: A flourishing town is vital

The Westmorland Gazette: web - kendal mayor tom clare.jpg

11:59am Sunday 21st September 2014

May I congratulate those who organised the recreation of the Hardman picture of sheep being driven down Allhallows Lane at Kendal in 1953.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Taking time simply to 'be'

The Westmorland Gazette: Ullswater in the Lake District

8:00am Sunday 21st September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to be able to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

OPINION: "The county show traffic needs to be dealt with...but not until '90s classics hour' is over."

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

THE annual County Show - arguably the highlight of the agricultural calendar - is over for another year.

BOOK REVIEW: A Grass Rope to Catch a Unicorn

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

A GRASS ROPE TO CATCH A UNICORN by Janet Rawlins, £20 in hardback

COMMENT: Lakes set to benefit even further from its great cultural assets

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Friday 19th September 2014

When listing reasons why tourists might want to visit the Lake District, several obvious answers spring readily to mind.

Elusive little Mercury is visible after sunset again

8:10am Thursday 18th September 2014

I hope some of you managed to catch a glimpse of the northern lights.

BOOK REVIEW: Remember: I'm not a celebrity so you won't read this by D R Hall

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 14th September 2014

REMEMBER: I’M NOT A CELEBRITY SO YOU WON’T READ THIS by D R Hall, £8.95

The Biscuit Girls by Hunter Davies

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Saturday 13th September 2014

THE BISCUIT GIRLS by Hunter Davies, £6.99

'Can-do' attitude of Cumbrians helps to redress the balance

The Westmorland Gazette: This stunning image of Ashness Bridge by Nina Claridge shows the splendour of the Lake District landscape - but should the area be awarded World Heritage Status?

2:00pm Friday 12th September 2014

Living in sparsely-populated Cumbria comes with many benefits. We are surrounded by lakes and fells and do not have to suffer the traffic congestion and ‘business’ of big city life.

As darkness falls this week look for a small ‘W’ of stars

7:10am Thursday 11th September 2014

Thanks to everyone who came along to our Stargazing Kendal events.

BOOK REVIEW: The Murder of Patience Brooke by JC Briggs

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 7th September 2014

THE MURDER OF PATIENCE BROOKE by JC Briggs, £8.99 ISBN 978-0-750954433

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Our world today is a busy place

The Westmorland Gazette: The Market Cross and St Mary’s Church

10:00am Sunday 7th September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to beable to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District by Arthur Mee

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE LAKE DISTRICT by Arthur Mee, £9.99 ISBN 978-1-445642796

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara, £55



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree