Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

Conflict over 10nmph limit makes talking vital

11:52am Sunday 19th October 2014

REPORTS from lake users that Windermere is a scene of conflict during summer will come as a surprise to those who rarely venture onto the water or are content to admire it from the safety of the shoreline.

PODIUM: Collective effort makes a huge difference to the Lakes

5:00pm Sunday 19th October 2014

This summer I’ve been making the most of the light evenings with a swim in Windermere, and I feel so lucky to have the opportunity to experience such beauty and tranquillity right on my doorstep.

How to take inspirational photographs of some of Britain's finest scenery

The Westmorland Gazette: (11036879)

1:41pm Saturday 18th October 2014

PHOTOGRAPHING THE LAKE DISTRICT by Stuart Holmes, £25

The children are going nuts over conkers

11:07am Saturday 18th October 2014

SO, we've collected 120 shiny conkers with the kids.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Calm and caring lifestyles can teach us a great deal

The Westmorland Gazette: Yorkshire Whitby Abbey

2:00pm Friday 17th October 2014

I am very lucky in my job in that I get to see some wonderful sights as I go around the country.

Signs are in the wrong place

The Westmorland Gazette: One of the lights at Endmoor

1:55pm Thursday 16th October 2014

Preston Richard Parish Council fought long and hard for flashing lights and a 20mph speed limit outside St Patrick's Church of England school. They were finally installed two months ago by local authority employees but their location leaves a great deal to be desired.

Low level walks book perfect for those hunting area's hidden gems

The Westmorland Gazette: STEP OUT: New book is perfect walking companion

8:27pm Sunday 12th October 2014

Book signposts the way to Lakeland's hidden gems

Enchanting fireside book by a master story teller

The Westmorland Gazette: TELLING: A fireside book to enthral

5:12pm Sunday 12th October 2014

MIDWINTER FOLK TALES by Taffy Thomas, £9.99

Now is the time to check the detailed plans

11:51am Friday 10th October 2014

THE need for more housing - and specifically for more 'affordable housing' - continues to be a major issue facing South Lakeland.

LETTER: Most people need to use a car

The Westmorland Gazette: Morning rush hour traffic at Windermere Road, Kendal

10:46am Friday 10th October 2014

Reading the proposals of Cumbria County Council to spend £6.8million on roads in Kendal and Ulverston (Gazette, September 25, '£6.8m plan to free up roads') appears at odds with some recent decisions to withdraw subsidies on a number of bus routes then announcing a 50 per cent increase in bus times.

Now is the time to scrutinise the detailed plans

The Westmorland Gazette: Authority to be the host with toast at morning gathering

3:00pm Thursday 9th October 2014

THE need for more housing – and specifically for more ‘affordable housing’ - continues to be a major issue facing South Lakeland.

A dystopian novel with haunting themes from a young Kendal writer

The Westmorland Gazette: (11292302)

12:22pm Thursday 9th October 2014

TREMOR by Ryan Mark, £8.99

'Good neighbours stop rogue traders' campaign

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

10:40am Wednesday 8th October 2014

Doorstep criminals exploit vulnerable people by convincing them to pay for shoddy or incomplete repair work, charging extortionate fees for their services, or use threatening behaviour.

Restaurant etiquette: I might just get a takeaway tonight...

The Westmorland Gazette: elmgrove

6:00pm Saturday 4th October 2014

I WAS taught as a young 'un I shouldn't talk with my mouth full - but I was also told it's rude to ignore someone if I'm being spoken to.

Ospreys are thriving

The Westmorland Gazette: South Lakeland is becoming an osprey hotspot

4:15pm Friday 3rd October 2014

I was interested to read the report article (Farm and Country, August 28, 'Reserve celebrates its osprey success') about the Roudsea ospreys, in which it stated Cumbria is now home to three pairs of nesting ospreys. I assume you are referring to Bassenthwaite, Foulshaw Moss and Roudsea Moss.

This week's cartoon by Shelbourn

The Westmorland Gazette: (10976826)

2:34pm Friday 3rd October 2014

"The council sees Mardale's reappearance as a chance to provide homes for locals."

Arcturus is very easy for even the most novice stargazer to find

The Westmorland Gazette: Follow the arc to Arcturus

10:29am Thursday 2nd October 2014

Now it's getting dark mid-evening again (hooray!) it's a lot easier to go out star spotting. The Big Dipper - the name we give to the seven brightest stars in Ursa Major, the Great Bear - dominates the northern sky, looking like a huge starry ladle hanging above the fells and trees. Anyone who sees the Big Dipper will also notice a bright yellow-white star to its left.

Inspiring story of grit and heroic determination

The Westmorland Gazette: (10637998)

1:53pm Sunday 28th September 2014

HELMAND TO THE HIMALAYAS by David Wiseman, £8.99

Fascinating history of Leighton Moss revealed in new book

The Westmorland Gazette: (10638037)

11:49am Saturday 27th September 2014

LEIGHTON MOSS: ICE AGE TO THE PRESENT DAY by Andy Denwood, £7.99

Traffic plans are welcome but they are not a panacea

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Thursday 25th September 2014

PLANS to spend millions on improvements to highways, public transport and cycling routes in South Lakeland are to be welcomed — and may even go some way towards assuaging motorists’ recent anger over the introduction of on-street parking charges.

LETTER: Lancaster Bombers evoke pride

The Westmorland Gazette: The Lancaster bombers flying over Windermere.

8:10am Thursday 25th September 2014

The flypast began at 10.15am, when the world’s only pair of Lancaster bombers swept over Windermere heading north to be followed by the Red Arrows at 11.30am in diamond formation.

Trip planned to World War One battlefields

The Westmorland Gazette: Libray photo dated 25/9/16 showing British Troops going over the top to support an attack by XIV Corps on Morval during the Battle of the Somme in the 1914-1918 First World War.

6:20pm Wednesday 24th September 2014

Between Saturday November 8 and Thursday November 13, I will be leading a group from the north of England to the Cenotaph Ceremony in Whitehall on Remembrance Sunday.

PODIUM: 'Twinning' helps to break down barriers

8:07am Wednesday 24th September 2014

Sedbergh’s Dave Collier, Communications Officer of the North West Twinning Federation, believes there are many benefits to forging international links

LETTER: Respect due to brave men of the RNLI

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:40pm Tuesday 23rd September 2014

Respect due to brave men Although I have lived in Kendal since 1976 I was born, in 1936, and bred in Blackpool.

LETTER: Fighting was global

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

I was very interested on a visit to the local collection at Kendal library in the display of art work by James Cookson.

BOOK REVIEW: Montgomery The Church Mouse

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 21st September 2014

MONTGOMERY THE CHURCH MOUSE by Jane Byle, £12.99 hardback

LETTER: A flourishing town is vital

The Westmorland Gazette: web - kendal mayor tom clare.jpg

11:59am Sunday 21st September 2014

May I congratulate those who organised the recreation of the Hardman picture of sheep being driven down Allhallows Lane at Kendal in 1953.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Taking time simply to 'be'

The Westmorland Gazette: Ullswater in the Lake District

8:00am Sunday 21st September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to be able to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

OPINION: "The county show traffic needs to be dealt with...but not until '90s classics hour' is over."

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

THE annual County Show - arguably the highlight of the agricultural calendar - is over for another year.

BOOK REVIEW: A Grass Rope to Catch a Unicorn

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Saturday 20th September 2014

A GRASS ROPE TO CATCH A UNICORN by Janet Rawlins, £20 in hardback

COMMENT: Lakes set to benefit even further from its great cultural assets

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Friday 19th September 2014

When listing reasons why tourists might want to visit the Lake District, several obvious answers spring readily to mind.

Elusive little Mercury is visible after sunset again

8:10am Thursday 18th September 2014

I hope some of you managed to catch a glimpse of the northern lights.

BOOK REVIEW: Remember: I'm not a celebrity so you won't read this by D R Hall

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 14th September 2014

REMEMBER: I’M NOT A CELEBRITY SO YOU WON’T READ THIS by D R Hall, £8.95

The Biscuit Girls by Hunter Davies

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Saturday 13th September 2014

THE BISCUIT GIRLS by Hunter Davies, £6.99

'Can-do' attitude of Cumbrians helps to redress the balance

The Westmorland Gazette: This stunning image of Ashness Bridge by Nina Claridge shows the splendour of the Lake District landscape - but should the area be awarded World Heritage Status?

2:00pm Friday 12th September 2014

Living in sparsely-populated Cumbria comes with many benefits. We are surrounded by lakes and fells and do not have to suffer the traffic congestion and ‘business’ of big city life.

As darkness falls this week look for a small ‘W’ of stars

7:10am Thursday 11th September 2014

Thanks to everyone who came along to our Stargazing Kendal events.

BOOK REVIEW: The Murder of Patience Brooke by JC Briggs

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 7th September 2014

THE MURDER OF PATIENCE BROOKE by JC Briggs, £8.99 ISBN 978-0-750954433

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Our world today is a busy place

The Westmorland Gazette: The Market Cross and St Mary’s Church

10:00am Sunday 7th September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to beable to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District by Arthur Mee

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE LAKE DISTRICT by Arthur Mee, £9.99 ISBN 978-1-445642796

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara, £55

BOOK REVIEW: Postcard Messages From The Great War By Andrew Brooks

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

POSTCARD MESSAGES FROM THE GREAT WAR by Andrew Brooks

Implications of Scottish vote might take time to emerge

The Westmorland Gazette: Which way will Scotland vote?

3:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

PENRITH and the Border MP Rory Stewart has warned we would need to create a patrolled frontier in the event of a ‘yes’ vote for Scottish independence.

Major changes to Vehicle Road Tax

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

10:40am Thursday 4th September 2014

FROM 1 October 2014, there are 3 changes to be aware of:

Each new stretch of restored canal boosts public interest in the waterway

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

WHEN construction of the M6 was in its final planning stage, a delegation from Westmorland reputedly travelled to London to ask the then Conservative Transport Minister Ernest Marples not to let the motorway cut off the upper reach of the Lancaster Canal.

All praise to the NHS

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I recently had an arthroscopy at Westmorland General Hospital’s Day Surgery Unit at Kendal.

LETTER: Praise for all at Westmorland General Hospital

The Westmorland Gazette: Westmorland General Hospital

11:00am Sunday 24th August 2014

Praise for all at hospital I recently returned home after a two-week stay in Westmorland General Hospital at Kendal, having contracted pneumonia.

48 Going on 50 - 1984 as it was for me by Audrey Wilson

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

48 GOING ON 50 - 1984 AS IT WAS FOR ME by Audrey Wilson, £20

LETTER: School days recalled

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

I read the ‘Picture from the Past’ (Nostalgia, July 31) which showed girls sitting in the grounds of a country estate.

LETTER: Give me some sanctuary

The Westmorland Gazette: Telephone  (6860549)

12:00pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Sanctuary has become an obscurity within our homes in these days of perpetual intrusion into our lives. Every medium imaginable has been exploited to ensure peace and quiet eludes us every hour of the day.

Recording events helps to keep Orwellian vision at bay

The Westmorland Gazette: George Orwell

5:00pm Thursday 21st August 2014

THIRTY years ago, Audrey Wilson began a handwritten account of 1984 chronicling her day-to-day family life, plus national and international events.



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree