Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

BOOK REVIEW: Remember: I'm not a celebrity so you won't read this by D R Hall

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 14th September 2014

REMEMBER: I’M NOT A CELEBRITY SO YOU WON’T READ THIS by D R Hall, £8.95

The Biscuit Girls by Hunter Davies

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Saturday 13th September 2014

THE BISCUIT GIRLS by Hunter Davies, £6.99

'Can-do' attitude of Cumbrians helps to redress the balance

The Westmorland Gazette: This stunning image of Ashness Bridge by Nina Claridge shows the splendour of the Lake District landscape - but should the area be awarded World Heritage Status?

2:00pm Friday 12th September 2014

Living in sparsely-populated Cumbria comes with many benefits. We are surrounded by lakes and fells and do not have to suffer the traffic congestion and ‘business’ of big city life.

As darkness falls this week look for a small ‘W’ of stars

7:10am Thursday 11th September 2014

Thanks to everyone who came along to our Stargazing Kendal events.

BOOK REVIEW: The Murder of Patience Brooke by JC Briggs

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 7th September 2014

THE MURDER OF PATIENCE BROOKE by JC Briggs, £8.99 ISBN 978-0-750954433

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Our world today is a busy place

The Westmorland Gazette: The Market Cross and St Mary’s Church

10:00am Sunday 7th September 2014

I HAVE fond memories of fun-filled holidays from school. When I was growing up my family was lucky to beable to go away for two weeks, usually to Wales or even to the Lake District.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District by Arthur Mee

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE LAKE DISTRICT by Arthur Mee, £9.99 ISBN 978-1-445642796

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 6th September 2014

THE UNOBTAINABLE - A STORY OF BLUE by David de Lara, £55

BOOK REVIEW: Postcard Messages From The Great War By Andrew Brooks

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

POSTCARD MESSAGES FROM THE GREAT WAR by Andrew Brooks

Implications of Scottish vote might take time to emerge

The Westmorland Gazette: Which way will Scotland vote?

3:00pm Friday 5th September 2014

PENRITH and the Border MP Rory Stewart has warned we would need to create a patrolled frontier in the event of a ‘yes’ vote for Scottish independence.

Major changes to Vehicle Road Tax

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

10:40am Thursday 4th September 2014

FROM 1 October 2014, there are 3 changes to be aware of:

Each new stretch of restored canal boosts public interest in the waterway

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

WHEN construction of the M6 was in its final planning stage, a delegation from Westmorland reputedly travelled to London to ask the then Conservative Transport Minister Ernest Marples not to let the motorway cut off the upper reach of the Lancaster Canal.

All praise to the NHS

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 28th August 2014

I recently had an arthroscopy at Westmorland General Hospital’s Day Surgery Unit at Kendal.

LETTER: Praise for all at Westmorland General Hospital

The Westmorland Gazette: Westmorland General Hospital

11:00am Sunday 24th August 2014

Praise for all at hospital I recently returned home after a two-week stay in Westmorland General Hospital at Kendal, having contracted pneumonia.

48 Going on 50 - 1984 as it was for me by Audrey Wilson

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

48 GOING ON 50 - 1984 AS IT WAS FOR ME by Audrey Wilson, £20

LETTER: School days recalled

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Saturday 23rd August 2014

I read the ‘Picture from the Past’ (Nostalgia, July 31) which showed girls sitting in the grounds of a country estate.

LETTER: Give me some sanctuary

The Westmorland Gazette: Telephone  (6860549)

12:00pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Sanctuary has become an obscurity within our homes in these days of perpetual intrusion into our lives. Every medium imaginable has been exploited to ensure peace and quiet eludes us every hour of the day.

Recording events helps to keep Orwellian vision at bay

The Westmorland Gazette: George Orwell

5:00pm Thursday 21st August 2014

THIRTY years ago, Audrey Wilson began a handwritten account of 1984 chronicling her day-to-day family life, plus national and international events.

LETTER: Memories of the hospital

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

Around the 1940s as a young girl I would go to Kendal Green Hospital and the workhouse. My dad was a porter there, booking people in for the night, and my mother worked in the hospital part-time.

BOOK REVIEW: The Alone Alternative by Linda MacDonald

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

THE ALONE ALTERNATIVE by Linda MacDonald, £8.99 ISBN 978-1783064335

PODIUM: Five ways to help promote happiness and well-being

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

We should all think about our own wellbeing. New Chief Officer of South Lakeland Mind Dr Jonathan Ingram talks about that most elusive of traits, happiness, and about the charity’s work

BOOK REVIEW: Mr Nobody by Natalie Gordon

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 16th August 2014

MR NOBODY by Natalie Gordon, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-500464882

LETTER: Casualties of the Great War

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Saturday 16th August 2014

There seems to be some confusion about the numbers of men recorded on Kendal town war memorial.

Something very rare is happening in the sky before dawn

8:10am Friday 15th August 2014

Cross your fingers really hard for clear skies next Sunday, Monday and Tuesday mornings.

Litter is unsightly and could be harming the local economy

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Thoughtlessness and selfishness remain scourges of our modern society.

BOOK REVIEW: Hunting Scraps is an award-winning combination of art and social history

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:10am Thursday 14th August 2014

Charles James Cropper was a natural draughtsman who had a voracious love of drawing.

How to Rent – a Checklist

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

6:03pm Monday 11th August 2014

For people who cannot afford to buy their own home, and don’t qualify for social housing, the only option is to rent in the private sector.

BOOK REVIEW: A Boy From Glasgow Street

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

A BOY FROM GLASGOW STREET by Norman Pascoe, £9.95

PODIUM: Children's needs are at the heart of every decision we make

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

Coun Anne Burns, Cumbria County Council Cabinet Member for Children’s Services, pays tribute to the county’s social workers, foster carers and adopters

The mid-August Perseid shower is one of the best

4:10pm Friday 8th August 2014

There are around a dozen meteor showers every year.

Sheep farming remains as important as it ever was

The Westmorland Gazette:

5:00pm Thursday 7th August 2014

PLANS to recreate a legendary sheep herding photograph taken in Kendal in 1953 are bold, ambitious and fraught with potential logistical problems.

Wordsworth's Lake District by Howard Beck

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Sunday 3rd August 2014

WORDSWORTH’S LAKE DISTRICT by Howard Beck, £34.84

"People keep getting up...they're going to tip the plane!"

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Saturday 2nd August 2014

I’M back in work after a lovely two weeks off - cue a very bad mood.

Northern Canals by Ray Shill

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Saturday 2nd August 2014

NORTHERN CANALS by Ray Shill, £14.99 ISBN 978-1-445633190

LETTER: Canal teems with life

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Friday 1st August 2014

The Lancaster Canal Trust operates the trip boat 'Waterwitch' every Sunday and bank holidays, May to October, from Crooklands landing stage. Volunteers skipper the boat, welcome prospective passengers at the old stables and promote the canal.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Athletes show us how to set our sights

The Westmorland Gazette: Our Olympians take on the 100 metres

2:50pm Friday 1st August 2014

My eldest daughter arrived for her swimming lesson last week and was transfixed by the TV screen next to the reception desk. On it were lanes of swimmers racing in the Commonwealth Games.

LETTER: Please join us at the Cenotaph

The Westmorland Gazette: Kendal's war memorial

4:53pm Thursday 31st July 2014

Kendal Branch of the Royal British Legion would like to extend an invitation to anyone who would like to join us at the Market Place Cenotaph at 10pm on August 4, 2014, where we will be joining in with the Legion’s ‘Lights out’ initiative in commemor-ation of England’s entry into the First World War.

PODIUM: We should not be so swift to lock people away in jail

The Westmorland Gazette: Crime Commissoner's expenses saga: Cumbria PCC Richard Rhodes to speak at press conference

4:45pm Thursday 31st July 2014

Cumbria’s Police and Crime Commissioner Richard Rhodes argues the country’s criminal justice policy needs addressing to prevent crime in the first place rather than simply locking up criminals in prison

Take time to commemorate remarkable anniversary

The Westmorland Gazette: British infantrymen on the march in 1916 in Northern France during the First World War.

2:00pm Thursday 31st July 2014

OVER the past seven months, we have become increasingly gripped by the centenary of the First World War.

The sky is now pretty dark by midnight - and split in half by the misty trail of the Milky Way

7:10pm Tuesday 29th July 2014

NO PROMISES, but it's still worth keeping an eye on the northern sky after dark, just in case the 2014 Noctilucent Cloud season decides to go out with a bang and give us one last beautiful display.

BOOK REVIEW: Fairynan's Flights of Fancy

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 27th July 2014

FAIRYNAN’S FLIGHTS OF FANCY by Dulcie Matthews, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-908098887

BOOK REVIEW: A Vicarage Changes Hands

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

A VICARAGE CHANGES HANDS by John Ward, £6.50 ISBN 978-0-948655142

BOOK REVIEW: McDougalls and Gunpowder

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

MCDOUGALLS AND GUNPOWDER by Dennis McDougall

Free Wi-Fi scheme likely to boost the local economy

The Westmorland Gazette: WELL CONNECTED: At what age should a child be allowed a mobile phone or tablet?

4:00pm Thursday 24th July 2014

The world continues to change at an ever-increasing pace, with more and more of our everyday lives reliant on the internet and social media.

Look directly overhead at midnight and you'll see the bright icy blue-white Vega

7:30pm Tuesday 22nd July 2014

The 2014 NLC season is just about over, and hopefully some of you saw those mysterious and beautiful electric blue clouds shining in the north at least once during the past couple of months.

PODIUM: Reshaping neighbourhoods will bring health rewards

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

Prof John Ashton, formerly Cumbria’s Director of Public Health and now president of the UK Faculty of Public Health, argues towns must be made more ‘old age friendly’

BOOK REVIEW: Lancashire Folk Tales

1:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

LANCASHIRE FOLK TALES by David England and Jennie Bailey, £9.99 ISBN 978-0-742489933

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Is the Church distinct enough?

The Westmorland Gazette:

5:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

IS THE Church distinct enough? There's a lot of talk about trying to be relevant, trying to fit in and accommodate the communities that we find ourselves in. But in trying to fit in, are we losing our USP?

LETTER: Dangerous litter

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I took this photograph of helium balloons that I collected from a barbed wire fence on top of the fells dividing Longsleddale and Bannisdale, close to Capplebarrow.

Sign up to the organ donor register and give someone the gift of life

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

Many people feel uneasy talking about - and planning for - death, although health workers are increasingly concentrating on providing patient-centred care to help terminally ill people and their families make choices to meet their individual needs and wishes.



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links

click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree