Letters block Forum block Polls Reviews block

LETTER: Give me some sanctuary

The Westmorland Gazette: Telephone  (6860549)

12:00pm Friday 22nd August 2014

Sanctuary has become an obscurity within our homes in these days of perpetual intrusion into our lives. Every medium imaginable has been exploited to ensure peace and quiet eludes us every hour of the day.

Recording events helps to keep Orwellian vision at bay

The Westmorland Gazette: George Orwell

5:00pm Thursday 21st August 2014

THIRTY years ago, Audrey Wilson began a handwritten account of 1984 chronicling her day-to-day family life, plus national and international events.

LETTER: Memories of the hospital

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

Around the 1940s as a young girl I would go to Kendal Green Hospital and the workhouse. My dad was a porter there, booking people in for the night, and my mother worked in the hospital part-time.

BOOK REVIEW: The Alone Alternative by Linda MacDonald

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

THE ALONE ALTERNATIVE by Linda MacDonald, £8.99 ISBN 978-1783064335

PODIUM: Five ways to help promote happiness and well-being

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 17th August 2014

We should all think about our own wellbeing. New Chief Officer of South Lakeland Mind Dr Jonathan Ingram talks about that most elusive of traits, happiness, and about the charity’s work

BOOK REVIEW: Mr Nobody by Natalie Gordon

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 16th August 2014

MR NOBODY by Natalie Gordon, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-500464882

LETTER: Casualties of the Great War

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Saturday 16th August 2014

There seems to be some confusion about the numbers of men recorded on Kendal town war memorial.

Something very rare is happening in the sky before dawn

8:10am Friday 15th August 2014

Cross your fingers really hard for clear skies next Sunday, Monday and Tuesday mornings.

Litter is unsightly and could be harming the local economy

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Thursday 14th August 2014

Thoughtlessness and selfishness remain scourges of our modern society.

BOOK REVIEW: Hunting Scraps is an award-winning combination of art and social history

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:10am Thursday 14th August 2014

Charles James Cropper was a natural draughtsman who had a voracious love of drawing.

How to Rent – a Checklist

The Westmorland Gazette: Citizens Advice Bureau

6:03pm Monday 11th August 2014

For people who cannot afford to buy their own home, and don’t qualify for social housing, the only option is to rent in the private sector.

BOOK REVIEW: A Boy From Glasgow Street

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

A BOY FROM GLASGOW STREET by Norman Pascoe, £9.95

PODIUM: Children's needs are at the heart of every decision we make

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Saturday 9th August 2014

Coun Anne Burns, Cumbria County Council Cabinet Member for Children’s Services, pays tribute to the county’s social workers, foster carers and adopters

The mid-August Perseid shower is one of the best

4:10pm Friday 8th August 2014

There are around a dozen meteor showers every year.

Sheep farming remains as important as it ever was

The Westmorland Gazette:

5:00pm Thursday 7th August 2014

PLANS to recreate a legendary sheep herding photograph taken in Kendal in 1953 are bold, ambitious and fraught with potential logistical problems.

Wordsworth's Lake District by Howard Beck

The Westmorland Gazette:

12:00pm Sunday 3rd August 2014

WORDSWORTH’S LAKE DISTRICT by Howard Beck, £34.84

"People keep getting up...they're going to tip the plane!"

The Westmorland Gazette:

6:00pm Saturday 2nd August 2014

I’M back in work after a lovely two weeks off - cue a very bad mood.

Northern Canals by Ray Shill

The Westmorland Gazette:

11:00am Saturday 2nd August 2014

NORTHERN CANALS by Ray Shill, £14.99 ISBN 978-1-445633190

LETTER: Canal teems with life

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Friday 1st August 2014

The Lancaster Canal Trust operates the trip boat 'Waterwitch' every Sunday and bank holidays, May to October, from Crooklands landing stage. Volunteers skipper the boat, welcome prospective passengers at the old stables and promote the canal.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Athletes show us how to set our sights

The Westmorland Gazette: Our Olympians take on the 100 metres

2:50pm Friday 1st August 2014

My eldest daughter arrived for her swimming lesson last week and was transfixed by the TV screen next to the reception desk. On it were lanes of swimmers racing in the Commonwealth Games.

LETTER: Please join us at the Cenotaph

The Westmorland Gazette: Kendal's war memorial

4:53pm Thursday 31st July 2014

Kendal Branch of the Royal British Legion would like to extend an invitation to anyone who would like to join us at the Market Place Cenotaph at 10pm on August 4, 2014, where we will be joining in with the Legion’s ‘Lights out’ initiative in commemor-ation of England’s entry into the First World War.

PODIUM: We should not be so swift to lock people away in jail

The Westmorland Gazette: Crime Commissoner's expenses saga: Cumbria PCC Richard Rhodes to speak at press conference

4:45pm Thursday 31st July 2014

Cumbria’s Police and Crime Commissioner Richard Rhodes argues the country’s criminal justice policy needs addressing to prevent crime in the first place rather than simply locking up criminals in prison

Take time to commemorate remarkable anniversary

The Westmorland Gazette: British infantrymen on the march in 1916 in Northern France during the First World War.

2:00pm Thursday 31st July 2014

OVER the past seven months, we have become increasingly gripped by the centenary of the First World War.

The sky is now pretty dark by midnight - and split in half by the misty trail of the Milky Way

7:10pm Tuesday 29th July 2014

NO PROMISES, but it's still worth keeping an eye on the northern sky after dark, just in case the 2014 Noctilucent Cloud season decides to go out with a bang and give us one last beautiful display.

BOOK REVIEW: Fairynan's Flights of Fancy

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Sunday 27th July 2014

FAIRYNAN’S FLIGHTS OF FANCY by Dulcie Matthews, £6.99 ISBN 978-1-908098887

BOOK REVIEW: A Vicarage Changes Hands

The Westmorland Gazette:

4:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

A VICARAGE CHANGES HANDS by John Ward, £6.50 ISBN 978-0-948655142

BOOK REVIEW: McDougalls and Gunpowder

The Westmorland Gazette:

1:00pm Saturday 26th July 2014

MCDOUGALLS AND GUNPOWDER by Dennis McDougall

Free Wi-Fi scheme likely to boost the local economy

The Westmorland Gazette: WELL CONNECTED: At what age should a child be allowed a mobile phone or tablet?

4:00pm Thursday 24th July 2014

The world continues to change at an ever-increasing pace, with more and more of our everyday lives reliant on the internet and social media.

Look directly overhead at midnight and you'll see the bright icy blue-white Vega

7:30pm Tuesday 22nd July 2014

The 2014 NLC season is just about over, and hopefully some of you saw those mysterious and beautiful electric blue clouds shining in the north at least once during the past couple of months.

PODIUM: Reshaping neighbourhoods will bring health rewards

The Westmorland Gazette:

2:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

Prof John Ashton, formerly Cumbria’s Director of Public Health and now president of the UK Faculty of Public Health, argues towns must be made more ‘old age friendly’

BOOK REVIEW: Lancashire Folk Tales

1:00pm Sunday 20th July 2014

LANCASHIRE FOLK TALES by David England and Jennie Bailey, £9.99 ISBN 978-0-742489933

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: Is the Church distinct enough?

The Westmorland Gazette:

5:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

IS THE Church distinct enough? There's a lot of talk about trying to be relevant, trying to fit in and accommodate the communities that we find ourselves in. But in trying to fit in, are we losing our USP?

Sign up to the organ donor register and give someone the gift of life

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

Many people feel uneasy talking about - and planning for - death, although health workers are increasingly concentrating on providing patient-centred care to help terminally ill people and their families make choices to meet their individual needs and wishes.

LETTER: Dangerous litter

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:00pm Thursday 17th July 2014

I took this photograph of helium balloons that I collected from a barbed wire fence on top of the fells dividing Longsleddale and Bannisdale, close to Capplebarrow.

It was probably the best NLC display I've ever seen

6:40pm Wednesday 16th July 2014

SINCE the last issue of The Westmorland Gazette hit the streets two displays of ‘noctilucent clouds’ have lit up the skies above Kendal and the South Lakes.

PODIUM: Take photographs of your horse from every angle to beat thieves

The Westmorland Gazette: Llanthony - Great Outdoors. A horse grazing the fields in Llanthony. (7721910)

12:00pm Sunday 13th July 2014

Nigel Sutcliffe, Horse Watch co-ordinator for Cumbria, says the community can play a vital role in reducing crime in rural areas.

LETTER: Don't let it end like this

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:16pm Thursday 10th July 2014

I think that the adoption of the riverside path from Miller Bridge as a cycle route is a good thing if cyclists are sensible and considerate to walkers.

COMMENT: Treasury cash welcome - but le Tour shows another way

The Westmorland Gazette:

3:23pm Thursday 10th July 2014

THE Government’s announcement that £27m is to be invested in Cumbrian infrastructure, skills and job creation over the next few years is to be welcomed.

The Sun's previously blank golden face is now spattered with sunspots

8:00am Thursday 10th July 2014

After dozing for what seems like an eternity, the Sun is finally waking up.

Over the coming weekend we can enjoy the always entrancing sight of a slowly fattening Moon.

6:30pm Thursday 3rd July 2014

To be perfectly honest, at the moment there's not a lot to see ‘up there’ after sunset.

Is it 'art'...or it is just plain rubbish?

6:00pm Saturday 28th June 2014

CALL me a philistine - and I know I’m about to divide the room - but my opinion on art is this: if I could have done it myself, it doesn’t count.

Brace yourself for turbulence

The Westmorland Gazette: AN AEROPLANE FLYING ACROSS LONDON.

5:00pm Thursday 26th June 2014

SO, we’re in Economy Class, boarding an air-conditioned plane to Majorca.

PODIUM: Sports must strive to attract more young people to play

7:00am Wednesday 25th June 2014

Cliff Heath, the new chairman of Windermere Golf Club explains his drive to encourage young players and says why he believes that juniors are the future of the sport.

There is no English word for Siesta...

The Westmorland Gazette: Glorious setting: Majorca boasts some beautiful beaches and bays

8:00pm Tuesday 24th June 2014

IT’S just after lunch here on the hottest lump of rock in the Balearics and my resting heart-rate has slowed to that of a docile crocodile.

BOOK REVIEW: The Lake District - A Dog Walker's Guide by Peter Naldrett, £7.95 ISBN 978-1-846743214

The Westmorland Gazette: PET PROJECT: Guide to great dog walks in the Lakes

7:30am Sunday 22nd June 2014

THIS pet owners’ guide could prove a useful gift for those people who say that having a dog is the only thing that gets them out and about.

At least I've got a well-stocked condiment cupboard...

6:00pm Saturday 21st June 2014

MY DAD tells me on an almost-daily basis that he’s concerned about my retirement.

CHRISTIAN VIEWPOINT: The promise is the same

3:00pm Thursday 19th June 2014

Do you, like me, sometimes look at someone who has a close relationship with God and say, “Oh I wish I had your faith”?

Clear vision of future of Bay hospital services is needed

2:00pm Thursday 19th June 2014

The contents of the draft Care Quality Commission report leaked to The Westmorland Gazette are another blow for the University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Trust.

An exciting time for arts and leisure in the Lake District

The Westmorland Gazette: The Brewery Arts Centre

2:00pm Thursday 19th June 2014

South Lakeland and north Lancashire are already blessed with a cultural landscape few other areas could boast.

One of the most interesting stars visible at the moment is the red giant Antares

10:40am Monday 16th June 2014

The splendid evening Parade of Planets we have all been enjoying over the past month or so is now coming to an end.



Your local newsYourGazette


Your Say Your Gazette



Essential Links



click2find


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree